This course guide highlights sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the classes covering global practice. It is also meant to help social work students pursuing international field placements.
Last Updated: Aug 17, 2012
Roll over these links for a brief description of these resources.
- Grants and Fundraising Library Guide
Great guide to writing grant proposal and finding funding sources.
- SPIN Database
A searchable database targeted primarily to institutions of higher education containing information on more than 11,000 separate funding opportunities.
- Research at U-M
Office of the Vice-President for Research, University of Michigan.
- Annual Register of Grant Support
Most recent year shelved at Hatcher Graduate Reference - Grants collection - 2nd floor N
- Foundation Directory - Online
Profiles over 70,000 U.S.-based foundations, describing programs, areas of funding, types of support, geographic emphasis, trustees & officers, application process, deadlines, high, low & average grants, and lists of recent grants made.
University of Michigan's Division of Research Development and Administration administers grants from external funders for the entire University.
- Sponsored Awards on the Web (SAW)
A searchable web interface to University's database of sponsored proposal and awards (eResearchPM). SAW contains financial and demographic information relative to awarded proposals submitted through DRDA on a Proposal Approval Form since 1988.
For Statistics, click the Statistics tab above.
- Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and all nine volumes of the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, containing detailed political, economic, and geographic information on over 250 countries and territories, including recent statistics, directory information, and current analysis.
- Background Notes
(US State Department) facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations for each country.
A library subscription database of cultural information on countries across the globe. The World Edition includes 208 country specific reports and each report is written by a native or long-term resident of the country.
- Country Studies
From the Library of Congress. Historical, political and social overviews.
- World Bank Countries and Regions
Information about WB activities in each country, and also basic data and statistics.
- World Factbook
(CIA) Includes basic facts and figures about each country.
- World Legal Information Institute (Worldlii)
Provides cross-database searching for legal materials of all types for countries around the world. Includes government departments and agencies, court cases, legislation, treaties, journals and more.
What are these organizations; how do they work?
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Thank you to Boston College librarians Jane Morris and Sarah Hogan for allowing me to use their original LibGuide as a template for this guide.