MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 
Research & Technology Guides - Tag Search
Browse guides by tag, or search for items tagged with specific terms.


Separate multiple tags in the search box with space or a comma. The search is an "and" type search (i.e. it will search for Guides containing all entered tags).
Search for tags:  

Tag Search Results for 'social_work'

Adoption
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 06th, 2009
This research guide highlights some of the resources available in the Social Work Library, on campus, and on the web concerned with adoption and foster care.
Tags: adoption social_sciences social_work
Adventure Therapy
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 06th, 2009
This guide highlights some of the resources available in the Social Work Library, on campus, and on the web which deal with adventure therapy.
Tags: adventure_therapy social_work
Community Profile
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 22nd, 2009
Navigate American FactFinder; understand the hierarchy of geographic variables and the political nature of subject variables; compare strengths and limitations of the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey for community needs assessment.
Tags: community_needs_assessment government_politics_and_law social_sciences social_work statistics
Cross-cultural Competencies for Social Workers
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009
Selected professional and government organizations that publish on cross-cultural competencies, University of Michigan diversity librarians' Subject Guides, and news sources on diversity.
Tags: cross-cultural_competencies social_work
Electronic Resources for Non-Profit Organizations
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 01st, 2009
This is a supplemental web page for SW671, SW663, SW664. & SW665. Catherine Christ Lucas, MSW, Executive Director of Nonprofit Alliance, Battle Creek, MI compiled all the data on this Web page. Note 1-3 subtabs under lettered tabs.
Tags: business non_profit social_sciences social_work
Evidence-based Practice for Pre and Post MSWs
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 21st, 2009
Learn concepts and search strategies for evidence-based practice in Social Work. Please note 1-2 subtabs under some main tabs.
Tags: evidence-based_practice social_sciences social_work
Evidence-based Practice in Children and Youth I
by Sally Haines - last updated on Aug 24th, 2009
Identify models of cultural competency development for clinical child welfare workers; identify best practices of cultural competency development for child welfare workers.
Tags: children_and_youth evidence-based_practice social_work
Evidence-based Practice in Children and Youth II
by Sally Haines - last updated on Aug 24th, 2009
What are some evidence-based interventions that could potentially be helpful with health disparities in African American pregnancy outcomes?
Tags: children_and_youth evidence-based_practice social_work
Gerontology Resources
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009
This guides highlights some of the resources in the Social Work library which deal with gerontology.
Tags: gerontology social_work
Grantgetting, Contracting and Fund Raising
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 12th, 2009
Key library and Internet resources for grant writers.
Tags: social_work
Grief and Bereavement
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 12th, 2009
This guide highlights resources available in the Social Work Library and elsewhere concerned with grief and bereavement. It is not comprehensive, but provides a starting point for research. Please contact social.work.library@umich.edu for further help.
Tags: social_work
Guide to APA Editorial Style for References
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 16th, 2009
This library guide summarizes the key components of citing research in the APA style of citation, commonly referred to as "Reference Citations in Text". The content does not cover all aspects or rules of the APA manuscript or citation style.
Tags: general_information_sources social_work
Guide to Finding Social Work Dissertations
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 12th, 2009
A guide for students in the School of Social Work describing how to locate doctoral dissertations. The information presented here is not meant to be comprehensive. Please contact Library staff for additional information at social.work.library@umich.edu.
Tags: dissertations social_work
Historical Research on Social Justice Issues
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009
SW 530 and some doctoral courses focus on the history of social welfare. This web page introduces primary and secondary sources for research across digital and traditional archives.
Tags: archives social_work
Homelessness Research Guide - Social Work
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Nov 05th, 2009
This guide is meant to offer help finding library and Internet resources related to homelessness.
Tags: homeless homelessness social_work
How to Research Public Transportation as a Civil Rights Issue
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009
This web page presents strategies and resources for students in SW530 and other courses that cover policy issues in an historical context.
Tags: government_politics_and_law social_work
Immigrants
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009
This tutorial outlines strategies for understanding the historic and current impact of the USA Patriot Act and Immigration and Custom Enforcement raids on communities of racial and ethnic identity.
Tags: government_politics_and_law multicultural social_work
International Health and Social Development (IHSD) Certificate Program
by Sally Haines - last updated on Aug 24th, 2009
This web page was developed by international social work students for the Interdisciplinary Certificate in International Health and Social Development [IHSD] (http://www.umich.edu/~icihsd/general.html)and facilitated by Social Work Library Staff in 2002
Tags: health international multicultural social_development social_work
International Resources
by Sally Haines - last updated on Aug 24th, 2009
International library and Internet resources for Social Workers on Education, Employment, Welfare Policy, Monitoring Reports, and Social Movements.
Tags: international social_work
Juvenile Justice
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 17th, 2009
This research guide highlights some of the resources available in the Social Work Library, on campus, and on the web concerned with juvenile justice.
Tags: social_sciences social_work
Locating Psychological & Educational Tests and Measures
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 03rd, 2009
Tests and measurements are standardized instruments which are used to evaluate populations, individuals, or processes. While commercial instruments are protected, many non-commercial tests can be found in the literature.
Tags: social_work tests_scales_measures
Medical Marijuana Patients
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 12th, 2009
What Social Workers need to know about cannabis and the new Medical Marijuana law passed in November, 2008.
Tags: government_politics_and_law health_care policy social_work
Michigan Contributions to Social Work History
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 17th, 2009
Selected Primary and Secondary Sources by Historical Eras.
Tags: archives michigan social_sciences social_work
Multicultural Contributions to Social Work History
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 03rd, 2009
This page, authored by Katherine Goodwin & inspired by Professor Michael Reisch, focuses on the contributions minorities have made to the field of social work. Where space permits, collection descriptions have been taken directly from the finding aid.
Tags: archives multicultural social_work
Nonprofit Administration
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Mar 04th, 2009
This guide is designed to help students begin research on the management of nonprofit organizations
Tags: non_profit social_sciences social_work
Policy Researcher Tutorial
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
Library assignment in all sections of Social Work 530 includes a quiz. Please note that there are three to four subtabs under the first four tabs. Altogether here are 31 topics covered in this tutorial.
Tags: government_politics_and_law policy research_tips social_work
Post MSW Information Literacy Competencies for Professional Social Workers,
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 08th, 2009
Information Literacy Competencies for Professional Social Workers focuses on free Internet resources, suggests strategies for staying informed in [Aging] [Children and Youth] [Community and Social Systems] [Mental Health] and [Substance Abuse].
Tags: evidence-based_practice social_work
Process of Writing a Research Paper in Social Work
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 17th, 2009
This page provides links to appropriate web sources for understanding the process of writing a research paper in the MSW program.
Tags: research_tips social_work
Publication Chain: From Idea to Knowledge Consensus
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
Outlines the evolution of published ideas.
Tags: research_tips social_work
SimplyMap for Social Work Students
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Sep 12th, 2009
A guide to using the mapping tool SimplyMap, oriented to SSW students.
Tags: social_sciences social_work
Social Work 500: Human Differences, Social Relationships, Well-Being, & Change Through the Life Course
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 03rd, 2009
This guide provides a checklist of "multicultural resources to understand individuals, families, and their interpersonal and group relationships, life span development, and theories of well-being, stress, coping, and adaption."
Tags: human_development social_work
Social Work 560: Management, Community Organization & Policy Practice
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 17th, 2009
This web page presents "Change Agent" skills: Conducting a community needs assessment, finding best practices to meet the need and finding appropriate funding sources for innovative programs and services.
Tags: community_needs_assessment social_work
Social Work 615 Drugs, Society and Human Behavior
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 11th, 2009
How will we reform the country’s harsh drug laws, reduce the swollen prison population and spend more to rehabilitate substance abusers?
Tags: drugs government_politics_and_law policy social_work substance_abuse
Social Work 633: Children and Youth Services and Social Policies
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 11th, 2009
How to research a policy within its historical and political context, find full text of a law and its legislative history, and to find program evaluations of services implemented by law.
Tags: children_and_youth government_politics_and_law policy social_work
Social Work 634: Health Care Policies and Services
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 11th, 2009
Within the structured approach to information literacy competencies taught at the School of Social Work, this tutorial represents the 3rd or Policy Researcher skill level.
Tags: government_politics_and_law health_care policy social_work
Social Work 636: Internet Resources on Mental Health Policies & Services
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 03rd, 2009
Compiled from Professor Thomas Powell's Syllabus
Tags: mental_health policy social_work
Social Work 643: Drug Policies: Prevention, Treatment, Law and Social Policy
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 11th, 2009
How will we reform the country’s harsh drug laws, reduce the swollen prison population and spend more to rehabilitate substance abusers?
Tags: drugs government_politics_and_law social_work substance_abuse_policy
Social Work 644: Policies and Services for the Elderly
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 17th, 2009
Within the structured approach to information literacy competencies taught at the School of Social Work, this tutorial represents the 3rd or Policy Researcher skill level.
Tags: gerontology legislation policy social_work statistics
Social Work 652: Organizing for Social and Political Action
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 10th, 2009
The Community Tool Box (U of Kansas) identifies 16 competencies community organizers need to help preserve & build organizational capacity & power. Selected Internet Websites from Professor Reisch's Syllabus, 2007, are included.
Tags: community_needs_assessment legislation policy social_work statistics
Social Work 698: Social Work Practice in Mental Health (Life Review & Reminiscence)
by Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 08th, 2009
Are life review and reminiscence effective informal interventions for addressing depression in frail elders who have recently lost independence and are adjusting to institutional living?
Tags: evidence-based_practice mental_health social_work
Social Work 699: Social Work Practice in Health Promotion and Disease Prevention
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 15th, 2009
What can social workers do to reduce the disparity in pregnancy outcome between African American and White women? Micro or Macro interventions?
Tags: evidence-based_practice social_work
Social Work 701: Practice in International Social Work
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 07th, 2009
Emphasizing non-U.S. information sources, this guide provides access to many country background studies, statistics, NGOs, IGOs and cross-cultural understanding necessary for global social work.
Tags: policy social_work
Social Work 729: Multicultural Work with Individuals, Families and Groups
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 15th, 2009
This tutorial is a collaboration between the instructor, Laura Sanders, the students in the class, including the librarian, to explore the state of the art of religion and spirituality in the field of social work.
Tags: evidence-based_practice refworks social_work
Social Work 800: Proseminar in Social Work and Social Science
by Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009
Library Orientation for doctoral students in Social Work and Social Sciences: Interdisciplinary scholarship tips and strategies.
Tags: social_work
Social Work Information Literacy Competencies
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 03rd, 2009
This page describes the information literacy competencies delivered in the Social Work Library's instruction program and course-related web pages.
Tags: information_literacy social_work
Social Work Library Instruction Policy
by Sally Haines - last updated on Jul 27th, 2009
How faculty can help ensure a structured approach to information literacy competencies across the social work curriculum.
Tags: instruction social_work
Social Work Library Reference
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Mar 22nd, 2009
A collection of resources in the Social Work scope.
Tags: social_work
Social Work Queer, Transgender, Bisexual, Lesbian, and Gay Resources
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 13th, 2009
This bibliography highlights some of the resources available in the Social Work Library, on campus, and on the web which deal with queer, transgender, bisexual, lesbian and gay resources. This list is not comprehensive.
Tags: gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender_studies social_work
Social Work Research Guides by Subject
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 20th, 2009
Aging, Children and Adolescents, Community Development and Organization, Community Needs Assessment, Drug Policy, etc.
Tags: research_tips social_work
Social Work Research Rescue: Course-Related Pages
by Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 07th, 2009
Library Guides for specific courses in the School of Social Work.
Tags: information_literacy social_work
Social Work Resources
by Sue Wortman - last updated on Oct 16th, 2009
This is a guide of important social work resources available to the UM community.
Tags: social_sciences social_work

MTagger

Coming soon

Site Feedback

Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

© 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

Loading content... please wait