The following databases (indexes) are particulary useful for finding information on primate social behavior. There is no one-database-fits-all so repeating the same search across two or more databases is necessary in order to do a thorough search of the research literature.
For more information, go to the factsheet.
Though you can find controlled vocabulary within any individual Zoological Record article record, you might want to search for controlled vocabulary terms before you begin your search. To find the thesaurus, you must:
1. Enter a search term in the search box (in the example below, chimpanzee* is the search term entered)
2. In the corresponding term type box (defaulting to "Topic"), use the chevron on the right to find a pull down menu.
3. Scroll down the menu, and find the "subject descriptors" option.
4. Select the "subject descriptors" option, then notice the "Select from Thesaurus" link that appears under that setting.
5. Click the "Select from the Thesaurus" link to browse the thesaurus hierarchy for subject, geographical, palaeontological, systematic, and taxa notes categories.
Indexes / Catalogs
Indexes (AKA databases):
Mirlyn is the catalog of the University of Michigan. All book and journal titles listed here are owned or subscribed to by the University. There are currently two versions of Mirlyn: new Mirlyn and Mirlyn Classic.
Why not Google?
Anyone can publish a website. Information contained in these websites is not necessarily authoritative, current or unbiased. Some websites can offer good background information for a topic, but are not appropriate for inclusion into a scholarly research paper.
For more information, go to Guide to Evaluating Websites
Please take a moment to answer a few questions. Your feedback would be most appreciated!
Each evaluation form has the section number included with the course name and number. Please select the evaluation form corresponding to the section you're in.
These additional web resources should only be used by students in AnthrBio 362, not those in 368
The Online Journals & Newspapers List contains an Anthropology category.
Make a note of the date range (holdings) for any journal you wish to search. While many are open-ended (ie we still subscribe to the title), some titles are only available online for a specific time period.