MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 

RefWorks 

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service. RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from text files or online databases. RefWorks also allows for automatic bibliography creation.
Last update: Oct 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/gradrefworks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Get started

Once you've gotten to the RefWorks  login page select Sign up for an individual account.

In the New User Information for University of Michigan Library screen, enter your name, login name, password, U of M e-mail address, type of user, and area of focus, then click on Register. Once you’ve registered, a confirmation will be sent to your e-mail address. You’ll also receive periodic updates from RefWorks on enhancements and upgrades.

NOTE: It is recommended that you DO NOT use your UM Kerberos password, but select another password of your choice.


What is RefWorks?

Top

 

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management service. RefWorks allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from text files or online databases. RefWorks features also facilitate manuscript preparation, allowing for automatic formatting of the paper and the bibliography.

RefWorks is similar in function to software products such as EndNote, Reference Manager, and ProCite. It differs in that personal databases are stored on the RefWorks server and can be accessed through the University Library institutional account from wherever the user happens to be. In addition, there is no charge for use to University of Michigan current faculty, staff and students.

 


How do I access RefWorks?

Top

On Campus

To access RefWorks account on campus, you can go directly to http://www.refworks.com/refworks/. RefWorks will recognize the IP address on your computer as U of M and the RefWorks User Login for the University of Michigan University Library window will appear.

Off Campus

If you are off campus and want to setup an account, you’ll need to go through the Search Tools page at: http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/
Click on Find Databases then enter RefWorks in the Title search box. You’ll be asked to sign on using library authentication. 

If you are using Write-N-Cite off campus, you will be prompted to enter a group code in order to access your RefWorks account. The UM implementation of RefWorks does not use a group code. Instead, the library proxy server is used for remote access to RefWorks and all library electronic resources. RefWorks has developed a version of Write-N-Cite that is compatible with the proxy server. Follow these instructions to download and install Write-N-Cite.

 

 


How do I set up a RefWorks account?

Top

 

Once you've gotten to the RefWorks login page, select Sign up for an individual account.

In the New User Information for University of Michigan Library screen, enter your name, login name, password, U of M e-mail address, type of user, and area of focus, then click on Register. Once you’ve registered, a confirmation will be sent to your e-mail address. You’ll also receive periodic updates from RefWorks on enhancements and upgrades.

NOTE: It is recommended that you DO NOT use your UM Kerberos password, but select another password of your choice.

 

Citation Manager Comparison

Trying to figure out which citation manager is right for you?  This document contains a comparision of the three citation managers that the Knowledge Navigation Center supports (Endnote, RefWorks, and Zotero).

 
 

RefWorks Help


Contact the
Knowledge Navigation Center
Ph. 734.647.5836 / knc-info @ umich.edu

 

RefWorks Handout (pdf)

Creating Citations and Bibliographies with RefWorks

 

Guide Author

Knowledge Navigation Center/Faculty Exploratory

Contact Info:
209 Hatcher Graduate Library
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1205
734-647-5836
Send Email

Subjects:
Technology, Software

 

MTagger

Coming soon

Site Feedback

Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

© 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

  Loading content... please wait