Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Word Analysis English 125

Useful resources for completing the Word History and Analysis assignment in Kelly Allen's English 125 class.

Harold's Profile

Harold Tuckett
Contact:
214-D Hatcher Graduate Library

734-764-4426
Website / Blog Page

Library Help

Service offline?
View additional contact methods.

About the Library

Useful Library Links:

Library Home Page:  http://www.lib.umich.edu/

Mirlyn Library Catalog:  http://mirlyn.lib.umich.edu/

Search Tools:  http://www.lib.umich.edu/searchtools

Library Research Guides:  http://guides.lib.umich.edu/

Ask A Librarian:  http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask-librarian

Other Useful Library Guides:

Linguistics Resources:  http://guides.lib.umich.edu/ling

The Library Research Process, Step-by-Step:  http://guides.lib.umich.edu/libraryresearchprocess

Essentials of Library Research:  http://guides.lib.umich.edu/essentials

Citation Help:  http://guides.lib.umich.edu/citationhelp

Useful Resources

This guide has library resources to help you in your research for your Essay 2: Word History and Analysis assignment:

"For this assignment, you will write a definition essay on a word or phrase. The goal of your paper is to move beyond a standard dictionary definition to a more complex understanding of your subject. In short, this is a process of redefinition. You want to make us see your subject in a new light—to change our perspective on the topic..."

To research word usage over time, you may need to use several types of resources: reference works like specialized dictionaries, databases that cover the popular press, and databases that cover more scholarly literature.

Reference Sources:

Online Oxford English Dictionary: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/8747
COCA: Corpus of Contemporary American English: http://corpus.byu.edu/coca/
COHA: The Corpus of Historical American English: http://corpus.byu.edu/coha/
Online Urban Dictionary: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=online
Merriam Webster Dictionary: in print in the Undergraduate Library, reference collection and stacks: PE 1628 .W38 2003
Juba to Jive: The Dictionary of African-American Slang, by Clarence Majors: Hatcher Graduate Reference Rm. - 2nd floor North, PE 3727 .N4 M24 1994
The Queen’s Vernacular: A Gay Lexicon, by Bruce Roger: Hatcher Graduate Library stacks, HQ 9 .R69


Databases of Popular Literature

ProQuest Research Library
   More info: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/proquest-research-library
   Direct link: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/9851

ProQuest News & Current Events
   More info: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/proquest-news-current-events
   Direct link: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/11433


Databases of Scholarly Literature

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
   More info: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/linguistics-language-behavior-abstracts
   Direct link: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/8569

Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAB)
   More info: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/mla-international-bibliography
   Direct link: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/9243