Research Guides: Research Data Management (Health Sciences): Find Data

U-M Data Sources

Data Office for Clinical & Translational Research
Other U-M Data Sources

The Data Office for Clinical & Translational Research (DOCTR) provides secure and compliant access to UMHS data, though self-serve tools and custom data requests. They also provide data consultation and training. Use of these tools for cohort discovery requires completion of one PEERRS module; access to patient-identifiable data requires IRB approval. Some of the tools available through DOCTR:

DataDirect
A user-friendly self-serve tool that provides aggregate counts for cohort discovery, and enables access to clinical data such as diagnoses, encounters, procedures, medications, vitals, and labs, on nearly 4 million unique patients from across UMHS.
EMERSE
EMERSE (Electronic Medical Record Search Engine) enables users to search clinical notes from our EMR (MiChart and CareWeb). The clinical notes include text from radiology, pathology, and other reports going back to 1998. EMERSE aids in cohort identification, eligibility determination and data abstraction.

The Michigan Genomics Initiative
A source for patient electronic medical records that have been combined with genetic data and questionnaires for pain, mood, affect, and function, as well as linkages to local and national data sources.
UMHS Dataset Catalog
The UMHS Data Set Catalog lists data sets available at the University of Michigan, and describes what each data set contains, how it can be accessed, and who its stakeholders are.

Other Data Sources

DataMed
A prototype biomedical search engine for finding datasets across multiple repositories and providing information about them. DataMed is designed to be, for data, what PubMed has been for scientific literature.
Dryad
An international, curated repository of data underlying scientific and medical publications.
Biological Sciences data repositories recommended by Nature
Health Sciences data repositories recommended by Nature
Re3Data.org
Directory of data repositories.
OpenDOAR
Directory of data repositories.
YODA Project
The Yale University Open Data Access (YODA) Project at the Center for Outcomes Research and Evaluation advocates for the responsible sharing of clinical research data. YODA provides access to the current data partners' clinical trial program data: Johnson & Johnson; Medtronic, Inc.; Queen Mary University of London; SI-BONE, Inc.

ICPSR (The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR hosts several specialized collections of health science data, including: