Resources related to the Computer & Video Game Archive, as well as projects and studies involving video games.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013
Feel free to check out these links to read about the things you can do at the archive.
The Computer and Video Game Archive in the basement of the Art, Architecture and Engineering Library collects materials relating to games for the purpose of academic inquiry. More information about it can be found at the following links:
Information about other places that archive video games-related materials can be found here:
- Cabrinety Videogame Collection, Stanford University (Stanford, CA)
The Stephen M. Cabrinety Collection in the History of Microcomputing at Stanford University consists contains software, computer hardware, peripheral devices, hand-held games, and computer industry literature documenting the microcomputing gaming industry during its formative years.
- Computerspiele (Computer Game) Museum (Berlin, Germany)
The world's first permanent exhibition of interactive digital entertainment culture.
- How They Got Game Research Project, Stanford University (Stanford, CA)
The aim of the How They Got Game research project is to explore the history and cultural impact of a crucial segment of New Media: interactive simulations and video games...
- Library of Congress Video Game Collection (Washington, DC)
LOC receives a copy of video games as they are released, and works to preserve them, as well as strategy guides, video samples of game play, and related works.
- MADE (Museum of Art & Digital Entertainment) Museum (Oakland, CA)
The MADE is a center and museum dedicated to activities that engage participants with all forms of digital art and entertainment.
- Museum of Soviet Arcade Machines (Moscow, Russia)
Forgotten and broken down Soviet-era arcade games are now being restored for Moscow’s newest museum and now it is possible to play and feel atmosphere of the passed epoch.
- Museum of the Moving Image (Astoria, NY)
Holdings include licensed merchandise, technical apparatus, still photographs, design materials, costumes, games, fan magazines, marketing materials of all kinds, video and computer games, and movie theater furnishings.
- The National Videogame Archive (UK)
This Archive is working to preserve, analyse and display the products of the global videogame industry...
- Strong's National Museum of Play (Rochester, NY)
This museum archives all aspects of play, including games.
- University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Gaming Initiative (Urbana, IL)
The UIUC Gaming collection was created to support a wide variety of campus interdisciplinary programs, scholarly research, and student needs involving video games.
- The UT Videogame Archive (Austin, TX)
The UT Videogame Archive is a collection component of The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History that seeks to preserve and protect the records of videogame developers, publishers, and artists for use by a wide array of researchers.
- Video Game Archive Project at Ritsumeikan University (Japan)
Professor Hosoi’s archive is the only archive in the world that aims to collect and preserve the entire gaming experience, including hardware, software, and visuals.
- AIMS - Miami University (Oxford, OH)
Their Game Lab has game consoles and a game PC as well as library of games. The lab is used for courses in the IMS Game Minor.
- Andersen Library, University of Wisconsin Whitewater (WI)
The collection includes representative games for Wii, Playstation3 and Xbox 360. The Library does not collect every game in every format. They also loan out newer video game equipment.
- NYU Game Center (New York, NY)
The NYU Game Center houses one of the world’s largest collections of videogames, and offers a busy schedule of exhibitions, tournaments, and lectures, including the annual PRACTICE: Game Design in Detail conference.
- Interactive Digital Media Collection, University of Calgary (Alberta, Canada)
Covers games from the late 1970's to the present. Includes mainstream titles, educational games and unique and independent games in handheld, console, and PC format. Supports students and scholars who want to create their arguments by building a game from scratch or modifying a commercial off the shelf game by providing both the tools and some technical support.
- University of Oregon Science Library (Eugene, OR)
This library has a collection of newer video games that circulate for classroom and personal use.
- William A. Higinbotham Game Studies Collection, Stony Brook University (NY)
The "Game Lab" is an interactive game laboratory located in the Central Reading Room of the Melville Library.