Handy reference resources for fast facts, bibliographic information, and citation style help. (Formerly known as the Ready Reference Shelf.)
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2013
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Basic English language encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Free online version at Bartleby.com, with 90,000 entries featuring 10,000 new words and senses, 70,000 audio word pronunciations, 900 full-page color illustrations, language notes and word-root appendixes.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Contains the complete text of the latest edition of America's oldest general encyclopedia, containing 45,000 articles written by 6,500 contributors--a 25,000,000-word repository of text and images maintained by the encyclopedia's editorial staff.
- Oxford English Dictionary (New Edition)
New web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language. Contains all the second edition entries, which are gradually being supplemented with new revised entries as the third edition is created.
- Oxford Reference Online
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of over 125 dictionaries and thesauri, language reference, quotation, and subject-specific reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences,
- Roget's Thesauri
Combined access to Roget's International Thesaurus of English Words and Phrases (1922 ed.) and Roget's II: The New Thesaurus (3rd ed., 1995). Provides brief definitions of words, with lists of other words with synonyms and antonyms.
Sources that help you find complete publishing information about specific book and periodical titles.
- Biography Resource Center
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes the Complete Marquis Who's Who, plus thousands of full text articles.
- Citation and Style Guides
A collection of citation and style guides (MLA, APA, Turabian, and others) including formats for electronic resources.
- World Almanac
Combines all the general facts, brief profiles and data included in Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, the World Alamanac and Book of Facts, the World Almanac of the U.S.A., the World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and the World Almanac for Kids.
Over 50 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, films, musical scores, archival materials, and much more, representing holdings of most libraries in North America and many in Europe.
Multi-disciplinary indexes that provide full-text magazine and journal articles.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from inception of journal to 3-5 years from present.
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines, from 1
Indexes over 2,300 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971, as well as major newspapers from their inception to the 1980s or later. Provides full text for articles as early as 1987 from ov