This is the "Home" page of the "DAAS 201:Introduction to African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

DAAS 201:Introduction to African American Studies   Tags: course_guide  

The internal migration of African Americans in the 20th century, including the “Great Migration” of the 1940s and 1950s, constitutes the largest permanent resettlement of African Americans in U.S. history. Tens of thousands of blacks moved from predom
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/Daas201 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Chuck's Profile

Profile Image
Charles Ransom
 

Letter to the Chicago Defender

The Chicago Defender was a remarkably successful in encouraging blacks to migrate from the South to Chicago, often listing names of churches and other organizations to whom they could write for help. As a result, thousands of prospective migrants wrote letters to black churches, such as the Bethlehem Baptist Association in Chicago, Illinois, which assumed the task of helping black migrants find housing and employment. They also helped migrants to adjust to their new environment.

[Letter from Mrs. J. H Adams, Macon, Georgia, to the Bethlehem Baptist Association in Chicago, Illinois,] 1918 Holograph Carter G. Woodson Papers Manuscript Division (119)

To view the full letter CLICK HERE

 

MicroForm Sets

Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration
Hatcher Serial and Microforms
FILM 24027

This collection of documents from
federal agencies focuses on the first
decade of that long-term trans-
formationof black America. As a
research tool for studying the
Great Migration and its impact
on black America.Records relate
to agricultural labor, industrial work,
unionism, housing, race relations,
returning veterans and their search
for employment, and the process
of migration from the South to the North.

 

Schomburg Research Center Site

In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds

Click Here

 

Other Web Sites

Detroit and the Great Migration 1916-1929, by Elizabeth Anne Martin

http://bentley.umich.edu/research/publications/migration/

 Elizabeth Anne Martin presents a fascinating story of Detroit and its part fueling the great migration of Blacks from the rural South to the industrializing north. This essay was originally written by Ms. Martin as her honors essay for the department of history here at the University of Michigan

 

Great Migration Maps
http://www.inmotionaame.org/gallery/index.
cfm?migration=8&topic=10&type=map&bhcp=1


Migration Resources

 

MIRLYN UM's Online Catalog

 HeritageQuest Online

 

 

Provides access to 5 resources useful for historical & genealogical research on the US & Canada: 1) photoreproductions of the original data sheets from the 1790-1930 U.S. federal censuses.

Click Here for HeritageQuest

 


 

The Mirlyn catalog enables you to search and browse the University of Michigan Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.  You can search in MIRLYN using ALL FIELDS, AUTHOR, TITLE, OR SUBJECT.  A key subject heading for your MIGRATION PAPER is African Americans--Migrations--History--20th Century.

 

Click Here for MIRLYN

 



 

GOOGLE and WIKIPEDIA

If you use GOOGLE or WIKEPEDIA try using this search term
great migration african americans

Using Google I found a very good website at the Library of Congress called The African American Mosaic
 CLICK HERE for Link to the The African American Mosiac

Click Here for Wikpedia article on The Great Migration 

The states in blue had the twelve largest
net gains of African Americans,
while the states in red had the
ten largest net losses.

 

Detroit Migration

Detroiters ranging in age from 65 to 90 recount their migration to Detroit.

Click on this link
http://research.marygrove.edu/novakinterviews/migration.html

 

The Warmth Of Other Suns

Google Online edition of
The Warmth of Other Suns

Click Here

 

Historical Newspapers

Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of eleven U.S. and three international newspapers, including: five major mainstream U.S. newspapers--the New York Times (1851-2007), Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Washington Post (1877-1994), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1987); six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); two major British newspapers--The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003); and a major newspaper of India--The Times of India (1838-2002). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.

Proquest Historical Newspapers


America's Historical Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers provides searchable digital facsimiles of thousands of titles from all 50 states.

The collection currently includes:

  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
  • Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876
  • Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900
  • Early American Newspapers, Series III, 1829-1922
  • Early American Newspapers, Series VI, 1741-1922
  • Early American Newspapers, Series VII, 1773-1922
  • Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Click Here for Link

 

Article Databases

JSTOR

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences

JSTOR LINK


AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE

America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages

AMERICA: HISTORY AND LIFE LINK

 

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest
Indexes over 3,800 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.

Click Here for ProQuest

 


 

Black Studies Center

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It includes scholarly essays, periodical articles, historical newspaper articles, images, video clips, a detailed timeline, and more from the following resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) Full Text (1902-1990, 1998- ), The Chicago Defender historical backfile (1909-1975), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940).

Click Here for Black Studies Center

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip