This is the "Key Resources" page of the "MoveSci 250 Guide to Literature Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

MoveSci 250 Guide to Literature Research   Tags: course_guide, kinesiology_and_sports, movement_science, mvs, science, statistics  

This guide provides resources and tips for research in Movement Science.
Last Updated: May 20, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/movesci250 Print Guide RSS Updates

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Comparisons

Comparison of PubMed, Sport Discus, PsycInfo using eating disorders in athletes as an example


PubMed – physical and biochemical aspects of eating disorders

  • How does it affect the body, the brain?
  • Does it impact health? Illness? What kind of illness?
  • What about physical injuries?  What parts of the body are affected? What's the therapy? Are drugs needed? Surgery? What kind?  Any physical therapy after surgery?

SPORTDiscus - physical and mechanics of movement.  Looks more to the what it is and who is affected rather than why it happens and what can be done about it.

  • How does it affect physical performance?
  • Is movement affected?
  • What kind of counseling is warranted?
  • Effects of peer pressure. 
  • Social dynamics of team sports.
  • How does team or individual sports affect eating disorders?

PsycINFO - behavioral and social aspects of eating disorders.

  • Mental and emotional stress.
  • Family dynamics.
  • Social interactions.
  • Peer pressure.
  • Body image.
  • What is the attitude towards food and eating?
  • What kind of psychotherapy?
 

Journal Impact Factors

For a description of journal impact factors and journal rankings, go to the Citation Analysis Guide 

Select the tab,  Journal Rankings

Recommended Databases

  • PubMed
    Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), it provides access to articles from biomedical literature going back to 1948. Subject areas covered are medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmacy, veterinary medicine. Includes articles and abstracts on physical health, sports injuries, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sport psychiatry, and more.
  • Web of Science
    Web of Science indexes key scholarly journals in the sciences. This includes journals in sports, kinesiology, and medicine. Aritcles can be sorted by times cited. This database also contains a cited reference search.
  • SPORTDiscus
    This database contains articles and abstracts related sports; exercise, biomechanics, sport psychology, sport law, sport administration and more. Searches international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, theses, and more. Coverage begins in 1800.
  • PsycINFO
    Contains journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology, including sport psychology.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Emily Hamstra
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
Rm. 2178
734-615-1444
Send Email
Subjects:
Kinesiology
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip