This guide is designed as a companion Website for students in the Michigan Research Community Program who are taking the UC 104: Introduction to Research one-credit course.
Last Updated: Jun 24, 2013
Please help us evaluate today's lab session by completing a short form.
Need articles but not sure where to start? These are some recommended databases for getting started.
ArticlesPlus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content - without the ads!" From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
Covers a broad range of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and dissertations in many different disciplines.
- General OneFile
Similar to ProQuest but it's a good idea to try both.
This is the best database for research psychological topics but consider it for other topics including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues in the news.
- Access WorldNews (NewsBank)
Full text of over 600 US newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
- LexisNexis Academic
A powerful database for searching U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services and news transcripts.
- ISI Web of Knowledge
Provides cross-search of multiple databases: ISI Web of Science with Conference Proceedings (citation indexes), Current Contents Connect (tables of contents), Biosis Previews, and Medline.
- Google Scholar (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)
The Google Scholar search engine that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of MGet IT (formerly SFX) links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.
The National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database to journal citations in the biomedical sciences.
International multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences.
- Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Cross-searchable access to over 60 databases in the areas of Arts & Humanities, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, and Technology.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Indexes 205 nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters plus 500 pamphlets, 6 reference books, over 1800 topical overviews, and referral information.
Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
919 S. University
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1185
(734) 764-7490Send Email
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.