This is the "Databases" page of the "Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)  

Provides resources for conducting research in complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/Complementary Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Agricola
    Useful for finding information on herbs and medicinal plants. From the National Agricultural Library.
  • CAM on PubMed
    Subset of PubMed linking to specific subjects in complementary and alternative medicine. On UM campus or for UM affiliates searching remotely, use the SFX-linked site.
  • Dr. Duke’s Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Database
    Allows keyword searches for plants, chemicals, biological activity, and ethnobotanical areas and links to other databases of interest. Produced by the Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
  • Facts and Comparisons
    Composed of a number of subsets including Herbal Interaction Facts, Off-label Drug Facts, Drug Identifier, and Review of Natural Products.
  • Alternative Medicine - Health & Wellness Resource Center
    From the Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
  • HerbMed
    Published information on contraindications, toxicity and adverse effects. An evidence-based resource providing scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. Maintained by the Alternative Medicine Foundation.
  • Micromedex
    Subscription databases covering herbal medicines and dietary supplements, clinical protocols, patient education and herbal-dietary supplement interactions. Addresses toxicology, pharmacology, acute care, chemical safety and regulatory compliance.
  • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
    Subscription database presenting up to date clinical data on natural medicines, herbal medicines and dietary supplements used in the western world. Compiled by pharmacists and physicians.
  • Natural Standard
    An international research collaboration on complementary and alternative therapies. Information is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed by a multi-disciplinary editorial board.
  • PubMed -- also see CAM on PubMed
    Produced by the National Library of Medicine and aimed toward health practitioners, the world’s largest single biomedical database includes the MeSH terms “alternative medicine,” and “complementary therapies, linking to 26 main headings.
  • PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
    The PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset, a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine (NLM), is essentially a "filter" in the PubMed database that allows users to limit the 20 million+ citations in PubMed to those that are dietary supplement-related (just over 400,000 at this time).
  • Review of Natural Products; See Facts and Comparisons
    Composed of a number of subsets including Herbal Interaction Facts, Off-label Drug Facts, Drug Identifier, and Review of Natural Products.
  • RXList-Alternatives
    Contains categories of herbal medicines comprising Western herbs, Chinese herbal remedies and homeopathics, offered both through FAQ’s and complete monographs.
 

Library Contact

Anna Ercoli Schnitzer

Anna Ercoli Schnitzer

Contact Info:
Health Sciences Libraries--Taubman Medical Library
734-936-1402
Send Email

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip