African ArtAfrican-American ArtAmerican ArtAsian ArtEarly Christian and Medieval ArtFrench ArtIslamic and Near Eastern ArtLatin American and Caribbean ArtPhotographyRenaissance ArtWomen in the Arts
This is the "Articles & Dissertations" page of the "Northern Renaissance Art: " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Northern Renaissance Art:   Tags: art, northern, painting, renaissance, sculpture  

Cultural production of artists and image makers of the Renaissance in Northern Europe ca. 1400-1568.
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=575262 Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Dissertations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Other Research Guides

 

Rogier Van der Weyden's Deposition of Christ

Northern Renaissance Art Resources

Useful Databases

Databases and indexes are the best places to find the articles you need. Databases and indexes are collections of articles that you can search by topic, subject, author, etc. Once you have completed your search, look for the phrase "Availability at U-M" or the "MGet It" button in order to access the article.

The following links are for general databases and indexes. These databases and indexes can be searched for the specific topic you are looking for (Claus Sluter, Jan Van Eyck, Tilman Riemenschneider, northern renaissance sculpture, etc.).

 

  • Articles Plus Advanced
    Articles Plus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads!". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
  • Bibliothèque nationale de France
    Site to the National Library of France. Gallica is the online bibliographic catalog.
  • FRANCIS
    Provides indexing and abstracts of books and articles from over 4,200 European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences--especially in religion, history of art, literature, philosophy, and economics.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar is a subset of Google that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web. with the added feature of MGet It (labeled as "Availability at UMichigan") links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.
  • JSTOR
    Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
  • Project Muse
    Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities.
  • Proquest Research Library
    Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
  • Victoria & Albert Museum
    This V&A database provides online access to over 1.1 million catalogue records and over 265,000 images of objects in their collection.

Finding Articles - Art History Databases

A comprehensive list of MLibrary's databases and indexes that relate to the humanities and more specifically art history can be found on Search Tools.

The following databases and indexes are a good place to start your research.

  • Art Full Text
    Indexes key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Includes full text for selected articles since 1997.
  • Art Index Retrospective
    Indexes key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, film reviews, etc.
  • ArtBibliographies Modern (ABM)
    This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA & RILA)
    These citation databases, searchable together, cover history of art material published between 1975 and 2007. Articles are taken from over 1200 journals, exhibition catalogues, theses and dissertations. Material published after 2007 is available through other MLibrary journal databases.

  • Humanities Abstracts
    Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 300 humanities publications. Each record contains a bibliographic citation for an article, book review, or other item in a journal. Full text is included for many articles.
  • IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
    IBZ is a multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences. To access, select "Go to Databases," then "Bibliographies," then IBZ.
  • International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
    The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is an index to scholarly literature on Western art and art history, incorporating journal articles, monographs, essay collections, and conference proceedings. It is a successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). IBA includes citations for works published or indexed from 2008 through the present.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
  • Wilson Omni File FullText
    OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text for all full text articles from 2,700+ different journals and periodicals included in 11 databases formerly published by H. W. Wilson Company.

Finding Articles - Art History Journals

These journals are dedicated to the art history discipline. They inlcude articles related to a wide variety of art history subjects.

Interlibrary Loan

  • Interlibrary Loan
    If you are unable to find the article you need through MLibrary try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including: books, dissertations, and microforms, copies of periodical articles or short sections of books.

Finding Dissertations

For information regarding access to dissertations please use the resource Acquiring U.S. Dissertations from the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service.

You may also want to visit the following sites:

Resources for Medieval Art Research

  • ArtStor
    Search here for Images from the Bodleian Collection and for Gothic Ivories.
  • Bibliotheque Nationale de France
    Site to the National Library of France. Provides access to the French version of Gallica, the online bibliographic catalog.
  • Index of Christian Art
    Provides subject and iconographic access to over 200,000 photographic reproductions of Christian art in the east and west from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Includes bibliographies for all works of art covered.
  • National Library of France
    English translation of Site to the National Library of France. Gallica is the online bibliographic catalog
  • International Medieval Bibliography
    The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at the Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.
  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
    Includes index to citations from more than 1,600 scholarly journals in all areas of Medieval and Renaissance studies (400-1700). Also included are: Iter Italicum, Renaissance Quarterly Online, Early Theatre, REED Newsletter, Renaissance and Reformation and the International Directory of Scholars.
  • Oxford Art Online
    Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
  • Victoria & Albert Museum
    This V&A database provides online access to over 1.1 million catalogue records and over 265,000 images of objects in their collection.

Deirdre's Profile

Profile Image
Deirdre Spencer
Contact Info
Fine Arts Library
260 Tappan Hall
(734) 764-5405
Send Email
 

Fine Arts Library

 Fine Arts Library

-
260 Tappan Hall
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
-
734 764 5405 (p)
-

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip