This guide provides links to research databases for students in the Winter 2014 course on Immigration Law taught by Prof. Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof.
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2014
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Use ArticlesPlus to locate scholarly articles on your topic. You can search directly from this page, by changing the upper right search from "this guide" to "MLibrary ArticlesPlus." This database also includes current and historical newspaper content.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
Use this link to search among digitized historical newspapers only.
- U.S. Immigration Legislation Online
List of U.S. public laws related to immigration, with links to full text.
- Proquest Congressional
The Proquest Congressional collection includes transcripts of published and unpublished hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, committee prints, statutes at large, bills and resolutions, and more. Search by number or text to find relevant congressional activity.
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis includes decisions and overviews from federal and state court cases.
- CQ Almanac
A service of Congressional Quarterly, the CQ Almanac provides contextual summaries of major congressional activity, from 1946-present. Use to find legislative initiatives, successful passages of bills into laws, and "unfinished business."
- Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Use this to find encyclopedia entries on all aspects of American immigration, from the colonial period through the present. Social, political, economic, legal, and demographic factors are represented. Each entry includes a bibliography to help you identify additional sources.
- Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
Use this to find encyclopedia articles on all aspects of immigration to the U.S., with special emphasis on the West. All entries include bibliographies to help you identify additional sources.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher, a service of Congressional Quarterly, provides comprehensive reports on major topics in the news. Designed to help journalists understand all sides of an issue, the reports include statistics, editorial debates, chronologies, and bibliographies. Coverage goes back to 1923, so you can find historical treatment as well.