Sampling
In music, sampling is the act of taking a portion, or sample, of one sound recording and reusing it as an instrument or a different sound recording of a song.
Sampling has been an area of contention from a legal perspective. Early sampling artists simply used portions of other artists' recordings, without permission; once rap and other music incorporating samples began to make significant money, the original artists began to take legal action, claiming copyright infringement.
When writing a research paper giving credit for others ideas is a form of sampling. You simply indicate when and where you made use of particular research, WHETHER YOU QUOTE, PARAPHRASE, OR SUMMARIZE!!!
The first court case about sampling was Biz Markie
On Biz Markie's album I Need a Haircut, the song Alone Again contains the familiar melody of Gilbert O'Sullivan's 1972 hit Alone Again (Naturally), as well as the titled refrain. Biz initially tried to get a sample license from Gilbert O'Sullivan, who was the copyright holder for the musical composition as well as the sound recording. He was not forthcoming, and Biz went ahead without the clearance. It should be noted that in the 1980's, it was not necessarily the norm to clear samples. The necessity of such licenses was a gray area, and much of hip-hop was built on the record labels' groups sampling each other; no label wanted to throw the first stone for fear of getting a few thrown back. O'Sullivan, however, was out of the recording label mainstream, and was more than happy to bring the issue to a head by lobbing a boulder at Biz's label.
O'Sullivan sued Biz for the sample, and the judge was singularly unimpressed by Biz's argument that he should not be liable for copyright infringement since everybody else was doing it. The judge opened his opinion with "Thou shall not steal", and proceeded to shed light on the previously gray area of sampling by laying down the bright line that samples needed to be cleared. The judge was so apoplectic about the appropriaion, that he even referred the case to the district attorney for criminal prosecution (which never happened).
The original Biz album was pulled due to the infringement contained therein. The album has been re-released with the offending song cut from the album. Additional fallout from the infringement: Markie's subsequent album is titled All Samples Cleared!
What this meaning for you is if you use others research you must give credit or face the plagiarism if discovered
WELCOME Summer Bridge 2009

Welcome Summer Bridge particpants today we will learn to use the University of Michigan online catalog and how to find information in magazines and on the internet
-
Using MIRLYN
Includes catalogs for the University Library, Bentley Historical Library and Clements Library at UM-Ann Arbor, and for the Thompson Library at UM-Flint. Contains information about items available at these four libraries
-
Using Search Tools to find Magazine/Journal article
Search Tools (http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/) is your customizable portal to UM library databases, indexes, networked electronic resources, e-journals, web resources and catalogs.
Finding Journal Articles
How to find articles about Jay-Z and Dwele

-
Proquest
Indexes over 3,800 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971. -
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It includes scholarly essays, periodical articles, historical newspaper articles, images, video clips, a detailed timeline, and more from the following resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) Full Text (1902-1990, 1998- ), The Chicago Defender historical backfile (1909-1975), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940)
. -
Biography Resource Center
A comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes the Lives & Perspectives Collection, featuring biographical entries from the latest edition of American Men and Women of Science and 40 subject encyclopedias
Finding Resources on the Internet
-
Wikipedia
Wikipedia is written collaboratively by volunteers from all around the world. Anyone with internet access can make changes to Wikipedia articles. Since its creation in 2001, Wikipedia has grown rapidly into one of the largest reference web sites, attracting around 65 million visitors monthly as of 2009. There are more than 75,000 active contributors working on more than 13,000,000 articles in more than 260 languages. As of today, there are 2,952,962 articles in English.
-
Google
Google Inc. is an American public corporation, earning revenue from advertising related to its Internet search, e-mail, online mapping, office productivity, social networking, and video sharing services as well as selling advertising-free versions of the same technologies. Google has also developed an open source web browser and a mobile operating system.
-
Example of a Bad Web site
- Jay-Z and The Game Feud
Chuck's Profile |
Charles Ransom209 Hatcher North
(734) 764-7522
Send Email
Subjects:
African American Studies, Native American Studies, Asian American Studies, Latino Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait