Checking out a BookGet ThisNew Tools in MirlynSearching in MirlynYour Library Account
This is the "English 125 - Home" page of the "English 125 Kruse" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

English 125 Kruse   Tags: course_guide, english125, research, subject:english course:125, ugl, undergrad, undergraduate  

Resources and Services for Alexandra Kruse's English 125 Class
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/english125kruse Print Guide RSS Updates

English 125 - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide is designed introduce the library to undergraduate students at The University of Michigan and to act as a basic guide for undergraduate research.

 

 

    Library Session Evaluation Form

Library Session Evaluation Form

Please let us know what you think of the library workshops after you have attended one.

 

Welcome to the Library

This guide will help you with your essay assignments for this course.

 

Getting Started and Exploring Your Topic

Finding and Exploring Your Topic
http://guides.lib.umich.edu/topic

This guide has lots of info on sources and ways to come up with a topic, on ways to get a quick overview of the major issues in a topic, and useful suggestions for how to broaden or narrow a topic.

Suggested Databases (Topic Overviews)

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. You can browse CQ Resercher by topic, track specific controversial topics by date or look up topics in their Pro/Con section. Pro/Con offers succinct articles by experts arguing for and against given topics. Click on the image below to go to this database.

 

Issues and Controversies offers accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact information, and bibliographies including primary source documents and news editorials. It has a subject index and a section featuring pro/con articles on a number of topics.

 General databases

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content - without the ads!" From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.  Over 6,800 publishers are represented in ArticlesPlus, totaling over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines.


Google Scholar (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)

The Google Scholar search engine that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of MGet It (labeled as "Availability at UMichigan") links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.

 ProQuest

Combined access to 50+ ProQuest databases, including full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including:  Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses. 

Specialized databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, with over 230 in full-text.
Database type: Article Index
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/9283

PsycINFO
Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Covers 1887-present. Produced by the APA.
Database type: Article Index
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/8375

Communication Abstracts
Communication Abstracts, formerly produced by Sage Publications, is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related ...
Database type: Article Index
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/11235

21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook
Handbook of new and existing tools, media and technology for communications and journalism.
Database type: Handbook
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/10899

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Database type: Statistics, Subject Gateway
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/11931

Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism
PEJ tracks the transformation of journalism in a changing information landscape through its annual State of the News Media report and other
Database type: Statistics, Subject Gateway
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/11935

Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
Database type: Article Index
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/8199

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 350+ key, international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology.
Database type: Article Index, E-Journal(s)
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/8241

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index which permits searching for articles that cite a known author or work.
Database type: Article Index
Stable URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/10165

Research Guides and Useful Links

Communication Studies Research Guide
http://guides.lib.umich.edu/commstudies

Finding Statistics
http://guides.lib.umich.edu/govstatistics


What is a primary source?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHTtpYYbhm0

Harold's Profile

 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip