This is the "Home" page of the "Blavin Scholars Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Blavin Scholars Guide  

A guide tailored to the Blavin Scholars' needs.
Last Updated: May 15, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/Blavin Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Quick Links!

Where to Start

 

Need articles but not sure where to start? We recommend these databases for getting started.

 

  • ProQuest  
      
    Covers a broad range of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and dissertations in many different disciplines.
  • General OneFile
    Similar to ProQuest but it's a good idea to try both.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    This is the best database for research psychological topics but consider it for other topics including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyzes of authors from every age and literary discipline.
  • Access WorldNews (NewsBank)
    Full text of over 600 US newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    A powerful database for searching U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services and news transcripts.

  • Readers Guide Retrospective  
      
    Indexes articles from 240 magazines published in the U.S. & Canada covering news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, and consumer affairs published between 1890 and 1982.
  • ArticlesPlus
    ArticlesPlus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads!". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
  • Kinesiology Resources
    A guide to resources in kinesiology including: movement science, sports management, physical education, and athletic training.
  • Additional Databases Frequently Used for Undergradaute Research
    Information on about 20 key databases recommended for a variety of undergraduate research projects.
 

Popular versus Scholarly Articles

When using a general index that has both scholarly and popular articles, choosing options like peer-reviewed, refereed, and scholarly will limit you to scholarly journal results.

Scholarly indexes do not have popular magazines articles. [Reader's Guide, on the other hand, does not have scholarly articles.] Therefore you will be more successful in finding a scholarly work, but you will also need to use a general index to find your popular source.

Generally speaking, it will be easier for you to first find a popular article on a topic and then track down the corresponding scholarly work. Use popular resources that include specific information about the research - names of the researchers, the location the research took place, when the original experiment took place, etc. The more details you can get in the popular article, the easier it will be to find the original, scholarly work.

Sometimes it is hard to tell whether you have a scholarly or a popular article when you are looking at an online full-text article. Here are some clues:

Journal [scholarly] Magazine [popular]
Content Detailed report of original research or experiment. Secondary report or discussion may include personal narrative, opinion, anecdotes.
Author
Author's credentials are given, usually a scholar with subject expertise. Author may or may not be named; often a professional writer; may or may not have subject expertise.
Audience
Scholars, researchers, students. General public; the interested non-Specialist.
Language
Specialized terminology or jargon of the field; requires prior knowledge. Vocabulary in general usage; understandable to most readers.
References
Bibliography Required. All quotes and facts can be verified. Rare. Scanty, if any, information about sources.
Examples
Developmental Psychology, Journal of Abnormal Psychology. Almost anything with Journal in the title. Usually come with memberships in scholarly societies and are only available in libraries or by subscription. Psychology Today, Discover, news magazines. Almost anything available in a store.

 

Pam's Profile

Profile Image
Pam MacKintosh
Contact Info
Economics Librarian
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
University of Michigan
2178 Shapiro Undergraduate Library
919 South University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185

Phone
Send Email
Subjects:
Economics
 

Acknowledgement

The information in this guide was authored by the Shapiro Undergraduate Library staff.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip