This is the "Getting Started" page of the "ANTHRBIO 368/PSYCH 338: Fall 2013" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

ANTHRBIO 368/PSYCH 338: Fall 2013   Tags: anthropology, course_guide, primates, psychology  

Resources for studying the social behavior of primates, including links to suggested resources and source citation help.
Last Updated: Apr 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/primates2013 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Contacts

Ye Li
Shapiro Science Library
liye@umich.edu

Scott Martin
Shapiro Science Library
samarti@umich.edu

Jennifer Nason Davis
Hatcher Graduate Library
jnasond@umich.edu

Lori Tschirhart
Shapiro Science Library
ltz@umich.edu

 

 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

Select Databases

The following databases (indexes) are particulary useful for finding information on primate social behavior.  There is no one-database-fits-all so repeating the same search across two or more databases is necessary in order to do a thorough search of the research literature. 

 

Zoological Record

  • Specialized index of journal articles focusing on zoological and animal science literature, covering research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Also covers taxonomy and classification.
  • Contains over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature from over 100 countries.
  • Journal coverage from 1864 to present.

  For more information, go to the factsheet.

 

    ISI Web of Science

    • A collection of 3 databases:  Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Index, Social Sciences Index.
    • Multi-disciplinary.  Covers biology, zoology, psychology as well as other disciplines.
    • Provides features such as Cited Reference searching.
    • Dates of coverage varies with each database.

     

    PsycInfo / PsycArticles 

    • Contains journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology.
    • Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, sports psychology, anthropology, business and law. 
    • Includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 35 languages.
    • Journal coverage  from 1887 to present.
    • PsycArticles is a subset of PsycInfo and contains more than 110,000 searchable full-text articles from 60 scholarly journals.  Journal coverage from 1894.

     

    Biosis Previews

    • The leading index to scholarly journal literature in biology (eg. botany, ecology) and related fields in the life sciences.
    • Also indexes books, book chapters, conferences and technical reports.
    • Covers over 5,000 journals in the life sciences.
    • Contains over 13 million records from 1955 to present.
     

    Library Session Evaluation

    https://www.lib.umich.edu/instruction/request/recent

    Please take a moment to answer a few questions.  Your feedback would be most appreciated!

    Each evaluation form has the section number included with the course name and number.  Please select the evaluation form corresponding to the section you're in. 

    Thanks!

     

    Credits

    This guide was originally created for the University Library by Jean Jones.

     

    Anthropology Journals

    The Online Journals & Newspapers List contains an Anthropology category. 


    Make a note of the date range (holdings) for any journal you wish to search.  While many are open-ended (ie we still subscribe to the title),  some titles are only available online for a specific time period.  

     

    A Word about Indexes, Catalogs and Google

    Indexes / Catalogs

    Indexes (AKA databases):

    • They filter the literature to collect articles only from authoritative sources or subject relevant sources.
    • They "browse" thousands of journals efficiently.
    • They glimpse the articles inside the journals.
    • They give results per parameters you specify.
    • Journals contained in these indexes may or may not be subscribed to by the University of Michigan.

    Catalogs:

    Mirlyn is the catalog of the University of Michigan.  All book and journal titles listed here are owned or subscribed to by the University. There are currently two versions of Mirlyn:  new Mirlyn and Mirlyn Classic. 

    Why not Google?

    Anyone can publish a website.  Information contained in these websites is not necessarily authoritative, current or unbiased.  Some websites can offer good background information for a topic, but are not appropriate for inclusion into a scholarly research paper.  

    For more information, go to Guide to Evaluating Websites 

    Contact

    We welcome your feedback on our web site.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

    ©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip