Search StrategiesGeneral Interdisciplinary Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "2014 Michigan Debate Institute" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

2014 Michigan Debate Institute   Tags: debate  

This resource is intended to support the research needs of the UM Summer Debate Institute participants
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/debate2014 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reserved Debate Books

  • Debate Reserved Materials
    Books selected by institute instructors for you. Available at the desk in the Askwith Media Library located in Shapiro - 2nd floor (Room 2002). Click on Course Reserves, then search the term "debate" to view the resources reserved for you. Give the person at the desk the call number and your MCard. You can have 2 books at a time for 2 hours.

Getting Other Books

  • Mirlyn Catalog
    If you find other books in our collections that you are interested in using, you will either pull them from the shelf if they are in the Shapiro building and bring them to the Askwith Media Library (Reserves) to have them added to the Debate collection to be available for you to check out. If they are in another building, you will complete the blue form and bring it to the Askwith Media Library and they will page it for you. It will available in less than 24 hours.

    To find books you will need to search the MIRLYN Catalog, be sure to limit your results to the following locations: Shapiro Undergraduate Library or Hatcher Graduate Library.
  • Mirlyn Tutorial
    If you need help finding books in MIRLYN, check out this tutorial.
  • Call Number Location Guide
    To find books on the shelf, use this call number location guide.
 

Welcome

Resolved: The United States federal government should substantially increase its non-military exploration and/or development of the Earth's oceans.

Welcome to the University of Michigan 2014 Summer Debate Institutes.

UM librarians have selected research databases specifically for this year's topic, many of which are not available at high school or public libraries.  We encourage you to take advantage of them while you are here. 

We also encourage you to ask for help if you need it. You can ask at the reference desk or use Ask a Librarian, the instant messaging reference.

iPoll

During your library instruction session, you will be exploring issues related to ocean exploration. You will be using iPoll to investigate public opinion about this issue.

  • iPoll
    This statistics database contains polling data from nearly 400,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys. It is searchable by keyword, polling organization, and date. It may not work with Internet Explorer on computers with Windows NT. It contains information from polls conducted from 1935-present and is published by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.

Issues and Controversies

Ocean Images

  • Issues and Controversies Database
    The Issues and Controversies database focuses, every year, on the National High School Debate Topic. This year they have pulled together resources to provide a foundation on your topic: United States Ocean Policy.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Alexandra Rivera
Contact Info
Office Address: 2178 Shapiro Library
Phone: (734) 764-7037
Send Email
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip