Create a Custom List of DatabasesCreate a Custom List of E-JournalsPermanently Save, Email & Export CitationsSave Searches
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 

Search Tools  Tags: arts business engineering general_information_sources government_politics_and_law health_sciences humanities international_studies news_and_current_events science social_sciences journals_and_magazines  

This is a guide to using the Library's Search Tools systems, a portal to library databases, articles, e-journals, online indexes, web resources, and catalogs.
Last update: Aug 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/searchtools  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Logging In

To enjoy all the features of your customizable Search Tools environment, be sure to log into the system.

Click on the Log in button button in the upper-right corner of the screen.

After successful login using your uniqname and password, the screen should display your name and the Log out button button.

 

MGet It

Already Have a Citation?

 

Click the MGet It button below and enter your citation to connect to full text or locate the item in a campus library.

Citation Linker SFX


Learn more
about MGet It and citation linking.

 
 

About Search Tools

Search Tools

Search Tools is your customizable portal to UM Library databases and articles, e-journals, indexes, networked electronic resources, web resources, and catalogs.

With Search Tools, you can:

  • Search across a variety of library databases simultaneously, which makes getting started on scholarly research more effective than using Google or Yahoo!
  • Find the best databases, indexes, journals, online encyclopedias, or e-book collections for your topic from the hundreds of specialized resources made available by your library.
  • Create your own groups of favorite databases, save favorite searches in those groups, and manage your own e-journals list as well.

Access Search Tools at: http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/.

Or, click on the Find Databases link at the top of any Mirlyn Classic (the classic library catalog) screen (http://mirlyn-classic.lib.umich.edu).

 

Search Tools Overview

Quick Search

Quick Search is the easiest way to search for information in sets of databases clustered by subject. Choose from 11 different subject sets and enter search terms to find information from between 5 to 8 databases at the same time.

Power Search

Power Search lets you create your own search sets and provides 2 search boxes which can be changed to search specific fields, like title, author or subject.

Find Databases

Find Databases allows you to search for individual databases by name, keyword or subject area and then search within those specific databases.

Find E-Journals

Find E-Journals can be used to find journals and magazines which are available online with full-text. You can search for words in the journal title or look at an alphabetical list.

My Search Tools

My Search Tools lets you personalize Search Tools, create your own group of databases to search together, and save your favorite e-journals and searches.

 
 

Library Help

 

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask/ for additional methods of contact.

 

     

    MTagger

    Coming soon

    Site Feedback

    Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

    © 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

      Loading content... please wait