This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Literature Reviews for the Humanities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Literature Reviews for the Humanities   Tags: alerts, art, art_and_design, art_history, arts, bibliographic management, humanities, lit review, literature review  

A guide with resources for the Faculty Exploratory workshop on Literature Reviews in the Humanities.
Last Updated: Jun 26, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/litrevhumanities Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find a Subject Specialists

Subject Specialists in your discipline or area of study are available for additional help on literature reviews.

List of Subject Specialists and contact information.

 

Find Subject Specific Databases

For aid in identifying online databases and other resources in all subject areas, including areas outside of your subject expertise, subject specific Research Guides can be very helpful.  

Also, a very useful online library resource for identifying databases by subject is

Search Tools 

Related Guides

Manage Citations with Zotero, Mendeley, RefWorks, and EndNote
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Dec 8, 2014
Provides guidance on how to use choose a citation management program and how-to use various citation management programs.
4,650 views this year
Copyright Basics
by Michigan Publishing Staff - Last Updated Aug 21, 2014
The following guide provides answers to common copyright questions.
10,345 views this year
Graduate Student's Guide to Publishing
by Michigan Publishing Staff - Last Updated Sep 19, 2014
Tips on how to get your work published in a variety of formats.
1,993 views this year
Citation Analysis Guide
by Sue Wortman - Last Updated Dec 19, 2014
This guide is designed for those who need information on how to use library resources for citation analysis. This includes information about impact factors, journal rankings, altmetrics and how to find who has cited an article.
75,205 views this year
Microsoft Word 2010 and 2013 for Dissertations
by Knowledge Navigation Center Faculty Exploratory - Last Updated Aug 21, 2014
This guide provides information that will help you use Microsoft Word 2010 and 2013 effectively for your dissertation. Topics include: formatting page numbers, using chapter templates, footnotes, images, and figures.
357,778 views this year
Grey Literature
by Deborah Lauseng, Carol Shannon - Last Updated Jun 18, 2014
Provides resources and information on how to search for Grey Literature.
1,995 views this year
Finding Archives and Manuscripts
by Barbara Alvarez, Sigrid Cordell, Evyn Kropf, Alexa Pearce - Last Updated Jun 16, 2014
This guide provides an overview of strategies for locating primary sources, including archival and manuscript material.
3,438 views this year
Finding Tests & Measurement Instruments
by Carol Shannon, Susan Turkel, Jamie Vander Broek, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Sep 25, 2014
This guide will help those who are looking for tests or measurement instruments in either the health or behavioral sciences. It offers resources, tips and tricks for finding tests.
4,634 views this year
Finding Data
by Mara Blake, Nicole Scholtz - Last Updated Aug 29, 2014
Strategies and resources for finding data across the social sciences, including opinion surveys.
1,493 views this year
Keeping Alert - Tracking New Articles and Books in your field
by Susan Turkel - Last Updated May 30, 2014
A guide to using emailed alerts, table of contents services, and RSS feeds to keep up with what's being written in your area of interest.
826 views this year
The Literature Review: For Dissertations
by Ye Li, Diana Perpich, Lori Tschirhart, Sue Wortman - Last Updated Jun 17, 2014
This is a multidisciplinary guide for graduate students interested in first steps to consider when starting a literature review for their dissertation.
5,027 views this year
 

Introduction

Library Literature Review Workshop (Humanities)

Do you need to conduct a literature review for your proposal, dissertation, or research article?  Are you concerned about how you'll find the best articles, how to keep track of your findings, or ways to improve your search process?  This workshop will guide participants through the steps that will help them search the literature to see what research has been done on a particular topic and how best to keep track of what they find along the way. Participants will learn about the different kinds of literature reviews, how to judge which are the more important writings on the topic, as well as what are some of the more specialized sources to check in their specific fields. Best of all, they will learn when they can stop searching!

Harold's Profile

 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip