- Academic One File
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Art Full Text (Art Abstracts)
Indexes key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Includes full text for selected articles since 1997.
- Articles Plus
Articles Plus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads!". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citation database focused on periodicals in architecture and related fields, emphasizing architectural design and history, construction, public arts, urban planning and design, etc.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Combined access to two databases providing indexing of articles and books on the history of art.
- Ebsco Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Covers political, diplomatic, economic, social, cultural, and intellectual history.
- FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies)
Provides indexing and abstracts of books and articles from over 4,200 European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences - especially in religion, history of art, literature, philosophy, and economics.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web. with the added feature of MGet It (labeled as "Availability at UMichigan") links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
Over 10 million digitized volumes, with over one-third public domain and downloadable as pdfs to the U-M community.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907 - 1984 (H. W. Wilson)
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907.
- Index of Christian Art
Provides subject and iconographic access to over 200,000 photographic reproductions of Christian art in the east and west from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400. Includes bibliographies for all works of art covered.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Periodicals Index Online
Database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
- Project Muse
Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities. A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content supporting a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
- Proquest Research Library
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
- RIBA - Royal Institute of British Architects
Citations to over 2000 periodicals and 135,000 books held by the Royal Institute of British Architects Library. In addition to architecture, subject areas include civil engineering, landscape architecture, interior design, and town planning.
- Wilson Omni Full Text
OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text for all full text articles from 2,700+ different journals and periodicals included in 11 databases formerly published by H. W. Wilson Company.
A good place to find databases and indexes is MLibrary's Search Tools site. Search Tools does not search for articles, rather, it searches for databases and indexes that contain articles. For example, if you are looking for an article on Michelangelo you might want to search Search Tools for "art." You will then be provided with databases and indexes that relate to art, you choose one that sounds relevant to your research and then search it for "Michelangelo."