Databases and indexes are the best places to find the articles you need. Databases and indexes are collections of articles that you can search by topic, subject, author, etc.
A good place to find databases and indexes is MLibrary's Search Tools site. Search Tools does not search for articles, rather, it searches for databases and indexes that contain articles. For example, if you are looking for an article on Michelangelo you might want to search Search Tools for "art." You will then be provided with databases and indexes that relate to art, you choose one that sounds relevant to your research and then search it for "Michelangelo."
Once you have completed your search, look for the phrase "Availability at U-M" or the "MGet It" button in order to access the article.
The following links are for general databases and indexes. These databases and indexes can be searched for the specific topic you are looking for (Michelangelo, Picasso, Japanese sculpture, etc.).
- Art Full Text (Art Abstracts)
Indexes key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Includes full text for selected articles since 1997.
- Articles Plus
Articles Plus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads!". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Combined access to two databases providing indexing of articles and books on the history of art.
- FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies)
Provides indexing and abstracts of books and articles from over 4,200 European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences - especially in religion, history of art, literature, philosophy, and economics.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web. with the added feature of MGet It (labeled as "Availability at UMichigan") links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
Over 10 million digitized volumes, with over one-third public domain and downloadable as pdfs to the U-M community.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907 - 1984 (H. W. Wilson)
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Project Muse
Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities.
- Proquest Research Library
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
- Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.