Last Updated: Jan 29, 2013
“Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose.”
- Zora Neale Hurston, American writer, 1891 – 1960
ArticlesPlus is a mega database that searches across many different databases. If you are not sure what discipline best represents a topic, ArticlesPlus is a good place to start.
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals and e-books published by more than 120 scholarly societies and university presses. Many articles on literary themes.
- America:History and Life
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
- Web of Science
Covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide. Includes Open Access journals, conference proceedings, and books
- Ecology Abstracts
Current ecology research reflecting recent advances in research related to global environmental change and destruction. Emphasizes how organisms of all kinds interact with their environments and with other organisms. Covers relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems and the environment
- LexisNexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.
- ATLA with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.