This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Mental Health Policies & Services SW 636" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Mental Health Policies & Services SW 636   Tags: evidence-based_practice, health_care, mental_health, social_work  

This is a course guide for Social Work 636, Mental Health Policies & Services for winter term, 2013.
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/SocialWork636 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Session Evaluation Form

Library Session Evaluation Form

Please follow the link to this evaluation form, which will be available for your course once the library workshop for your class has taken place.

 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

It's Debatable

There are a number of excellent resources for finding the pros and cons of issues and policy available from the library. Try starting with these.

  • CQ Researcher
    Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage on controversial issues. Many articles include side-by-side pro/con articles from opposing authors.
  • Issues & Controversies
    Features articles on controversial issues with background information, commentary from experts in the field, laws, discussion, statistics, graphs, bibliographies and other resources.

Health Policy Journals

This is a list of recommended journals on health care policy and research provided by The Kaiser Family Foundation. The library has subscriptions to all of these journals. 


The  following databases cover these journals and others that will be useful to you in this course. This list of databases is in order of the best coverage of the journals suggested by the Kaiser Foundation, linked above. 

CINAHL
CINAHL is an excellent database, covering journals related to nursing, allied health fields, and biomedicine. This database indexes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations and selected conference proceedings as well as standards of practice and educational software and audiovisual packages. 

PubMed (with MGetIt Links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 journals in biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related fields. It includes citations from MEDLINE and PreMEDLINE. Regular PubMed is an open database that does not require a U-M login but this version requires login in order to link to U-M journal subscriptions using MGetIt. 

Web of Science
Web of Science combines three citation indexes. It covers scholarly literature in the science, health, humanities and the social sciences and covers over 12,000 journals. 

ProQuest
Proquest combines over 50 databases which cover business, health sciences, news, science and the social sciences. 

Scopus
Scopus is an international, multi-disciplinary index and abstracting database, covering literature from the sciences, medicine, technology and the social sciences. 

 


Library Contact

Profile Image
Sue Wortman
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
(734) 764-5198
Send Email
 

Journal Citation Report

Use the Journal Citation Report to find some of the highest quality journals by discipline. Try the following, under the JCR Social Sciences Edition:

  • Health Policy & Services
  • Psychiatry
  • Social Work

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip