This is the "IR Spectra" page of the "Finding Spectral Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Finding Spectral Data   Tags: analytical_chemistry, chemistry, inorganic_chemistry, organic_chemistry, physical_chemistry, science  

A guide to locating IR, NMR, mass spec, and other spectral data.
Last Updated: Aug 31, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/spectra Print Guide RSS Updates

IR Spectra Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Note

All print titles are located in the 3rd floor Shapiro Science Library Reference collection, unless otherwise indicated. Most print spectroscopy titles are in the QC450 - QC467, QC762, QD95 - QD96 and QD139 call number areas. Titles include actual spectra unless noted otherwise.

 

Credits

This guide and its contents were originally developed by David Peck.

 

Infrared (IR) Spectra

Aldrich library of FT-IR spectra. QD 96 .I5 P661 1985. 3 vols.
Condensed-phase IR spectra of over 10,000 compounds arranged by chemical class. A good first stop for IR spectra. Vol. 3 contains vapor-phase spectra and indexes by molecular formula, chemical name, CAS Registry and Aldrich Catalog numbers for the set. Check previous 1981, 1975 editions under title Aldrich library of infrared spectra QD96.I5 P671 if you do not find your compound in the recent edition.

NIST Chemistry WebBook, http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
Contains IR spectra for over 8700 compounds. Search by chemical structure, formula, name, CAS Registry Number.

Handbook of infrared and Raman spectra of inorganic compounds and organic salts. QC 457 .N9271 1997. 4 vols.
Alphabetical indexes only, includes some spectral interpretations and tables of characteristic frequencies. See the related 1971 Infrared spectra of inorganic compounds (3800-45cm-1). QC 457 .N98. for additional IR spectra of salts, oxides, and some coordination compounds.

Merck FT-IR Atlas. QC 457 .M4731 1988.
Indexes by formula, chemical name and CAS registry#.

Sadtler handbook of infrared spectra. QC453 .S731 1978.
Arranged by compound class. Indexed by compound name and by major absorption bands.

Sadtler high resolution spectra of inorganics and related compounds. QC 457 .S126. 5 looseleaf vols.
Alphabetical and molecular formula indexes at front of vol. 1.

Sigma library of FT-IR spectra. QD 96 .I5 K451 1986.
IR spectra of biological compounds (those available through Sigma) similar to the Aldrich set listed above.

Standard grating spectra. QD96.I5 S82 1970. Vols. 1-20 in green looseleaf binders.
A Sadtler Standard Spectra set for infrared. See Sadtler Indexes section (handout pp. 3-4) for use of indexes.

Tip - Additional items specifically on infrared spectroscopy may be found at the call numbers beginning with QD 96 .I5 or QC 457. Also try a subject search in Mirlyn on infrared spectra or infrared spectroscopy.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Ye Li
Contact Info
3162 Shapiro Science Library
919 South University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1185
Phone: (734)615-5694
Send Email
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip