Finding International News
Try the library browse feature to see all the international newspapers available through the library. Select News & Current Events and then narrow your selection to International News. A list of links international newspaper databases and research guides will appear.

Access World News
Full-text content of local and regional newspapers. Each newspaper has its own distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Sample Search: "social workers" and ngo (select continent or country)
Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.
Other Online News Sources
- Al Jazeera English - Middle East perspective
- Le Monde diplomatique - French perspective
- Der Spiegel International - German perspective
- Internet Public Library List of International Online News Sources - Links to online newspapers by region, then by country.
- Africa News Service - Daily newspaper featuring political, economic and social development in Africa.
More Library Subject Guides
Here is a list of additional Library Research Guides related to international social work.
- Social Work Global PracticeA guide highlighting sources of international data and information useful to social work students in the classes covering global practice. It is also meant to help social work students pursuing international field placements.
- United NationsCreated by University of Michigan, International Government and Public Policy Librarian, Jungwon Yang, this guide covers all aspects of searching for information from the United Nations.
- Non-Government OrganizationsA guide to resources covering NGO-generated information, including websites, publications, and other resources, created by Government Information Librarian Catherine Morse.
- University Library: Global Information ResourcesA guide of information resources to students, faculty, and staff involved in global study.
- Cross-Cultural Comptencieis for Social WorkersSelected professional and government organizations that publish on cross-cultural competencies, University of Michigan diversity librarians' Subject Guides, and news sources on diversity.
- Global Health Information & ResourcesA collection of University Library, University of Michigan and external resources for all those interested in the many facets of global health.
Finding Country Background
Start with this list of library databases to gain economic and social background on countries and regions throughout the world.
- The World Bank e-LibraryOne of the most comprehensive collections of books, journal articles and working papers on areas of social and economic development. The collection is browsable by geography or by subject areas. Subjects include gender, education, health, nutrition, poverty reduction, and culture & development.
- World Development IndicatorsThe World Development Indicators (WDI) provides a comprehensive selection of economic, social and environmental indicators, drawing on data from the World Bank and more than 30 partner agencies. The database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Specific series and countries/groups can be selected for specific year ranges, and data can be exported.
- Africa Development IndicatorsAfrica Development Indicators contains over 1,600 indicators and time series from 1961 to the present for 53 countries. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.
Statistics are available on Millennium Development Goals, human development, household welfare, Malaria, HIV/AIDS, labor, migration & population. - Economist Intelligent Unit - Country ProfilesProvides economic, demographic and industry data covering over 200 countries. Country Reports highlight political economic and business developments in all significant markets.
- Eldin Gateway to Development InformationEldin is sponsored by the Institute of Development Studies a global charity for international development research, teaching and communications. This site provides country and regional profiles as well as resource guides and dossiers by subject areas such as ageing populations, food security, gender, HIV/AIDS, health and many more.
- Demographic, Social and Housing Statistics - United NationsThis site offers statistics on mortality, natality, migration, social security distribution of income, marriage and divorce, health, disability, education and a number of other topics.
- Europa World PlusOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and all nine volumes of the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, containing detailed political, economic, and geographic information on over 250 countries and territories, including recent statistics, directory information, and current analysis.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightIndexes and abstracts international agency publications and statistics since 1983.
- Foreign Broadcast Infoirmation ServiceProvides CIA translations of newwires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996, covering Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania, Caribbean, Middle/Near East, North American and South America.
- UN Millennium Development Goals Report - 2012The report presents the yearly assessment of global progress towards the MDGs, highlighting several milestones – three important MDG targets have been met well ahead of the target date of 2015. The report says that meeting the remaining targets, while challenging, remain possible.
- OECD iLibraryOnline library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes full-text of all books, papers, 24 periodicals and OECD statistical databases.
- OECD Gender, Institutions and Development StatisticsThe Gender, Institutions and Development Data Base presents comparative data on gender equality. It has been compiled from secondary sources such as Gender Stats and the Human Development Report as well a from indepth reviews of country case studies. The data are divided into six categories: (i) general country information, (ii) social institutions, (iii) access to ressources, (iv) political empowerment, (v) economic status of women, and (vi) composite indicators of gender equality.
Library Article Indexes for International Topics
Looking for journal articles? Try any or all of the following databases, depending on your focus.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO)Indexes over 2000 journals on U.S. and Canadian history. The is an excellent source for finding information on the influence of U.S. foreign policy on developing nations.
Sample search: (usa or United States) and foreign policy and [your country name here] - Family & Society Studies WorldwideThis index covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in the fields of social work, social science and family practice, It has an international scope and is strong on interventions, programs and services.
- PAIS International: Public Affairs Information ServiceAn index containing references from over 553,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and internet materials concerning public affairs worldwide.
- ScopusScopus is an internationally focused, multidisciplinary indexing and abstracting database for scientific, technical, medical and the social sciences.
- Web of ScienceCombines three citation indexes; Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences. These indexes can be searched for articles which cite a known author's work and can also be searched by topic, journal, and author address.
Library Contact |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Social Work Librarian |
Please fill out this evaluation
Please take a few minutes to fill out this evaluation form to let the library know how we're doing. Thanks!
Translation Tools
There are several free translation engines online you can use to try and translate news, documents or headlines into English if the original source is in a language unfamiliar to you.
- Google TranslatorNearly 60 languages available
- Google Lanauge ToolsEnter a Google search in English and it will be translated in the language you choose.
- Yahoo BabelFishTranslate blocks of text or enter a web URL to translate an entire web page.
- Bab.la-DictionariesOnline foreign language dictionaries.
Translation into English
There are several free translation engines online you can use to try and translate news, documents or headlines into English if the original source is in a language unfamiliar to you.
- Google Translator - Nearly 60 languages available
- Google Language Tools - Enter a Google search in English and it will be translated in the language you choose.
- Yahoo BabelFish - Translate blocks of text or enter a web URL to translate an entire web page.
- Bab.la - Dictionaries - Online foreign language dictionaries



Loading...
