About This Guide

This guide is designed introduce the library to undergraduate students at The University of Michigan and to act as a basic guide for undergraduate research.
Library Session Evaluation Form
Library Session Evaluation Form
Please let us know what you think of the library workshops after you have attended one.
Welcome to the Library
English 125
Instructor: Amie Major
Librarian: Harold Tuckett
This guide will give you information and lead you to library resources that will help you successfully complete your course assignments, particularly your final research paper.
Getting Started/Topic Overview
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. You can browse CQ Resercher by topic, track specific controversial topics by date or look up topics in their Pro/Con section. Pro/Con offers succinct articles by experts arguing for and against given topics. Click on the image below to go to this database.
Issues and Controversies offers accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact information, and bibliographies including primary source documents and news editorials. It has a subject index and a section featuring pro/con articles on a number of topics.
Try These Databases
• ProQuest Research Library
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28823
• PsycINFO (Psychology)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/2734
• Communication and Mass Media Complete (Communication and Media Studies)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28255
• Sociological Abstracts (Sociology)
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27171
Harold's Profile |





Loading...
