History of Jewish Visual Culture from Ancient Mosaics to Jewish Hip Hop Videos.
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014
MLibrary provides a wide array of helpful research guides. These may be of interest to you
Need more help? Try contacting:
Databases and indexes are the best places to find the articles you need. Databases and indexes are collections of articles that you can search by topic, subject, author, etc. Once you have completed your search, look for the phrase "Availability at U-M" or the "MGet It" button in order to access the article.
The following links are for general databases and indexes. These databases and indexes can be searched for the specific topic you are looking for (Michelangelo, Picasso, Japanese sculpture, etc.).
- Articles Plus
Articles Plus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads!". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedia of Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, including art. Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web. with the added feature of MGet It (labeled as "Availability at UMichigan") links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.
- Jewish Encyclopedia
Dates from 1901- 1906 and includes information on art and artists.
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Project Muse
Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities.
- Proquest Research Library
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (The Jewish National and University Library)
(The retrospective conversion of the JNUL's "Index of Articles on Jewish Studies" (RAMBI) 1966-1984 volumes has been completed. 01/22/01)
- Victoria & Albert Museum
This V&A database provides online access to over 1.1 million catalogue records and over 265,000 images of objects in their collection.
A comprehensive list of MLibrary's databases and indexes that relate to the humanities and more specifically art history can be found on Search Tools.
The following databases and indexes are a good place to start your research.
- Art Full Text
Indexes key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. Includes full text for selected articles since 1997.
- Art Index Retrospective
Indexes key international English-language arts publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition & award notices, exhibition listings, film reviews, etc.
- ArtBibliographies Modern (ABM)
This database is the only specialist bibliography available for the study of modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s onwards
- Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA & RILA)
These citation databases, searchable together, cover history of art material published between 1975 and 2007. Articles are taken from over 1200 journals, exhibition catalogues, theses and dissertations. Material published after 2007 is available through other MLibrary journal databases.
- FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies)
Provides indexing and abstracts of books and articles from over 4,200 European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences--especially in religion, history of art, literature, philosophy, and economics.
- Humanities Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 300 humanities publications. Each record contains a bibliographic citation for an article, book review, or other item in a journal. Full text is included for many articles.
- IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
IBZ is a multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences. To access, select "Go to Databases," then "Bibliographies," then IBZ.
- Oxford Art Online
Online version of the comprehensive art reference work covering all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
- Wilson Omni File FullText
OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text for all full text articles from 2,700+ different journals and periodicals included in 11 databases formerly published by H. W. Wilson Company.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is an index to scholarly literature on Western art and art history, incorporating journal articles, monographs, essay collections, and conference proceedings. It is a successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire International de la Litterature d'Art (RILA). IBA includes citations for works published or indexed from 2008 through the present.
These journals are dedicated to the art history discipline. They inlcude articles related to a wide variety of art history subjects.
If you are unable to find the article you need through MLibrary try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan obtains items that are not available at the University of Michigan Library for the study and research of the University's patrons, including: books, dissertations, and microforms, copies of periodical articles or short sections of books.
For information regarding access to dissertations please use the resource Acquiring U.S. Dissertations from the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service.
You may also want to visit the following sites:
Fine Arts Library
260 Tappan Hall
855 S. University Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1357
734 764 5405 (p)