This is a research guide for German 310. Resources included will help them learn more about Germany.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2013
- Oxford Duden German Dictionary
A German-English/English-German dictionary with comprehensive coverage of the general vocabulary of contemporary German and English (both British and American English, and the German of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland).
- Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Dictionaries
Combined access to 18 concise and pocket sized bilingual dictionaries. Provides translations between English and seven other languages: French, German, Irish (Gaelic), Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Modern Welsh. Includes specialized dictionaries for business related terms in French and Spanish.
This website allows you to search Google in two languages of your choice at the same time. The results are presented side by side.
Website where you can hear sound clips of the pronunciation of words in many different languages.
- Language Guide
This website allows you to hear the pronunciation of words in different languages by hovering your cursor over pictures of numbers, fruits, animals, parts of the body etc.
- Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
Online index to scholarship in German language and literature, 1985-present.
- Germanistische Fachinformationen im WWW
A collection of scholarly Internet resources assembled by the Universitätsbibliothek der Freie Universität Berlin.
- World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints,
- UN Data
Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. UM users only.
- Country Profiles (Library of Congress)
These profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Country profiles are available along with maps and graphs comparing countries' crime, economy, education, energy, environment, goegraphy, government, health, media, military, people, sports and transportation. Freely available website.