This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Campus Support for Faculty Creating Video Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Campus Support for Faculty Creating Video Resources   Tags: dmc, faculty exploratory, instructional technology, movie, movies, multimedia, video, video_editing, videos, videos_and_moving_image_media  

This guide describes sources of support for faculty who are considering using video as an instructional component in courses.
Last Updated: May 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/facultyvideosupport Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

Across campus, a number of support units provide assistance to faculty in the design, production, distribution, and use of video in teaching and learning.  Up until now, there hasn’t been a single point of reference to understand the types of media-related services available across campus. This document is an attempt to begin to collect this information in one place so faculty can know where to go for support, and what services are available.

This document will serve as a brief summary of the video-related services available to faculty, and how to access these services. It provides contact information and a quick summary of each unit’s digital media services. All of these units have a scope of service that extends much further than merely video-related support, but this document is focused purely on how they support the use of video in teaching and learning. Of course, this is an ever-changing landscape, so best efforts will be made to update this document regularly, and additions and corrections are always welcome.

Services available to individual schools are listed, as well as campus-wide services which are available to all faculty regardless of school.

Relevant Research Guides

The Library has created a number of excellent research guides which provide information that will be useful to you if you are using video resources in your classes.

  • Resources for Video Creation
    Do you want to make a video, but don't know where to begin? This guide will introduce you to basic video concepts and helpful resources available to you at the University of Michigan Libraries.
  • Copyright and Using Video
    Mostly about the copyright implications of using video within education and a video content management system, this guide provides a basic introduction to the copyright considerations of using, creating, and showing videos in an academic setting
  • Library Digital Films Service - Streaming video for instructors
    The University Library provides a service to deliver streaming video of films on CTools class websites. This guide also provides information about the large collection of streaming video databases to which the Library subscribes that are available to the UM community.
  • Working with iMovie and iDVD
    This guide provides step-by-step processes in iMovie such as creating new projects and events, capturing video, trimming and editing clips, adding text, transitions and effects, and exporting. Also, there is a section dedicated to burning media with iDVD.
  • Finding Reusable Media with the Creative Commons
    Looking for images, video, music, and other content you can share, reuse, or remix? Creative Commons provides an easy way to find and attribute materials without running afoul of copyright law.
  • Finding and Incorporating Media into CTools and PowerPoint
    Guide to resources on finding and incorporating media into CTools and PowerPoint. This guide was published in conjunction with an Enriching Scholarship program.
  • Guide to the Carl D. Winberg, MD Presentation Practice Room
    This is your guide to using the Presentation Practice Room, where you can create screencasts or use the video camera to easily capture video of yourself. Use this guide to learn how to operate the equipment and use the software in the facility.
  • The Askwith Media Collection
    Lists of selected DVDs, blu-ray, and audiobooks available in the Askwith Media Library.
  • Film & Video Studies / Screen Arts & Cultures
    Selected resources useful for conducting research on moving image media of all kinds, including cinema (popular movies, documentaries, animation, etc.), television, and digital media (video games, etc...).

Contact Info

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip