This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Detroit Center - Grants Workshop Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Detroit Center - Grants Workshop Resources  

This research guide is intended to assist persons seeking to secure funding for small projects using microgrants, non-profit fiscal sponsorship, or fundraising tools.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/DC-Grants_Workshop Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Nonprofit Directories

Washtenaw County Directory of Non-Profit Organizatinons
Provided by NEW, Nonprofit Enterprise at Work.

Publication 78
List of all tax-exempt organizations in the U.S., as recognized by the Internal Revenue Service. Indicates what portion of a contribution to an organization is tax deductible.

 

Michigan Resources for Nonprofit Support

Non-Profit Enterprise at Work (NEW)
NEW assists non-profit organizations in meeting needs and building support networks through the provision of resources, technology, and services in offices located in Ann Arbor and Detroit. They offer a variety of services, including technology consultations, fundraising workshops, and webinars on topics of interest to non-profit organizations.

Michigan Nonprofit Association
MNA provides member organizations with free news services, discounted email and telephone services, health insurance options, reduced costs for conferences and workshops, access to publications, networking opportunities, and multimedia and technology support.

Michigan Grantmakers
This Michigan State University compilation of Michigan grantmakers provides links to grant listings, as well as descriptions of various giving programs throughout the state. Relevant websites of community and corporate givers also are provided, in addition to linked information of top funding organizations in the state of Michigan.

Council of Michigan Foundations
Serving as a membership-based nonprofit organization, the CMF aims to build and support philanthropic activity in Michigan. Currently boasting over 350 organizational memberships, CMF provides member foundations with educational programs, networking opportunities, discounts on products, access to a lending library and a research librarian, philanthropic resources, current news and information, and advocacy representation in Washington, DC and Lansing, MI. A more complete listing of membership information and benefits can be found here.

 

Welcome!

Welcome Grant seekers and those interested in fundraising.  This resources is a general introduction to the grantseeking process and fundraising resources.  It is intended to support the Detroit Center Healthy Environments Program workshop.

 

Databases

The Foundation Center
A comprehensive source for news and information on U.S.-based foundations. Resources include: searchable archives of Philanthropy News Digest, Foundation Finder, Philanthropy Search Engine for the web (Sector Search), 990-PF forms, a virtual classroom with online tutorials for proposal writing, budgeting and more.

 

Guidestar
GuideStar's database contains data on more than 900,000 public charities, approximately 118,000 private foundations, and nearly half a million other exempt organizations in the United States. Federal 990 forms can be accessed through Guidestar, and grant activity of both grantmakers and grantees is accessible through the Grant Explorer data set.

 

Writing a Proposal

The Foundation Center's Proposal Writing Short Course
Concise online tutorial on the components of a proposal for foundation support. Well written, quickly read and easy to follow.

Proposal Writer's Guide
University of Michigan Proposal Writer's Guide, written by Don Thackrey. This Guide is intended for faculty and staff members with little or no experience in writing proposals for sponsored activities.

Proposal Budgeting Basics
This online course is designed to help with the basics of developing a project budget, and it is geared for those who have general knowledge of proposal development. (Beginners might want to take the Proposal Writing Short Course.)

Proposal Samples
This is a Foundation Center resource with links to sample proposals.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Alexandra Rivera
Contact Info
Office Address: 2178 Shapiro Library
Phone: (734) 764-7037
Send Email
 

Wayne State University Foundation Center Cooperating Collection

This How To Guide to the Foundation Center will link you to Monique Andrews and the Wayne State University Foundation Center's Cooperating Collection.

Crowd Sourcing Funding Portals

  • Kickstarter.com
    Kickstarter is a funding platform focused on a broad spectrum of creative projects. The Kickstarter economy is based on the offering of rewards – copies of the work, limited editions, fun experiences. Offering financial incentives, such as ownership, financial returns (for example, a share of profits), or repayment (loans) is prohibited. Having a focused and well-defined project with a clear beginning and end is vital in order to receive funding support from the kickstarter community.
  • IndieGoGo
    Billed as the world's leading international funding platform, IndieGoGo is for all types of funding needs, including filmmaking. On IndieGoGo you can create a funding campaign to raise money quickly and securely. Their platform has "helped to raise millions of dollars for over 65,000 campaigns, across 211 countries."
  • crowdrise.com
    The Crowdrise site is a unique blend of online fundraising, crowdsourcing, social networking, contests, and other ways to challenge donors. It is useful for all types of projects, however, you must be a 501(c)(3) or affiliated with one.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip