This is the "Databases" page of the "ULAM" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

ULAM  

A resource guide for ULAM faculty, fellows and residents to veterinary medicine resources at MLibrary
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/ulam Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases for alternatives search

These databases, and full-text access to many articles, are provided by the University Library and can be accessed from the Health Sciences Libraries homepage or by following the links below. Off-campus access is available to UM affiliates, authenticate with Level One credentials (uniqname and Kerberos password).

For assistance using these databases to search for animal alternatives, contact Marisa Conte at 615-8889 or email meese@umich.edu.

PubMed/MEDLINE

Developed, hosted and maintained by the National Library of Medicine's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is the largest biomedical database in the world, containing over 19 million citations to biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Use the Special Queries feature to search a Toxicology subset or access the ALTBIB/animal alternatives search. For more information on building a PubMed search, go to the 'Alternatives - PubMed search terms' tab.

Embase

This database incorporates citations from the MEDLINE and EMBASE datasets. The strength of this dataset is its focus on pharmacological citations, including many international publications. A special search feature for Animal Study Types facilitates searches for literature references to animal cells, experiments, tissues and models.

VetMed Resource

VetMed Resource contains key records on all aspects of veterinary medicine from 1972 to the present. It is updated weekly with records gathered from over 125 countries and includes 60,000 full text documents (journal articles, conference papers, reports).

Agricola

Hosted and maintained by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and developed by the NAL and partners, AGRICOLA is a citation database for agricultural literature and the NAL catalog. Access through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts provides links to full-text articles licensed by the UM Library. Access through the NAL's website provides seperate search functions for books and articles, as well as subject browse capabilities (eg Animal Welfare Audits).

BIOSIS Previews

Citation database to life sciences literature including biology (zoology and microbiology), medicine and pharmacology. This database contains over 19 million records from 6000 journals, conference proceedings, patents and more.

IWeb of Science Core Collection

This citation database contains the Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Index - Science. The Science Citation Index covers journals across 150 scientific disciplines, and the Proceedings covers conference literature. Be sure to deselect the Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Proceedings before beginning your alternatives search.

Scopus

Scopus is an interdisciplinary database with good coverage in the life and health sciences, as well as international literature. Coverage is primarily 1995 and on. Choose Life Sciences and Health Sciences for subject area coverage.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Marisa Conte
Contact Info
Taubman Health Sciences Library
1135 E Catherine St.

734.615.8889
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip