Welcome Global Scholars!

Comments (0)
Scavenger Hunt: Library Resources
- Library Website
- MirlynThe Mirlyn online catalog lets you search the University of Michigan Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, and electronic resources.
- ArticlesPlusArticlesPlus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content - without the ads!" From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results.
- Ask a Librarian Chat ServiceAsk a Librarian is tailored to the research needs of UM students, staff and faculty, but any one can inquire about specific UM library resources and services.
- World News ConnectionCIA-sponsored translations of local news sources from around the world, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc. Searchable by keyword, region of the world, and date. Provides the full-text in English. UM users only.
- Scavenger Hunt Form
ArticlesPlus in the Library Website
Location and Language Settings in Mirlyn
Additional Library Resources
Some helpful sources for your assignment:
- Online Oxford English Dictionary
- Online Urban Dictionary
- Juba to jive : a dictionary of African-American slang
- Merriam-Webster's dictionary of English usage
- The queens' vernacular : a gay lexicon
- Random House Webster's unabridged dictionary
- Corpus Of Contemporary American English
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- MLA International Bibliography
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
University Learning Communities Librarian |
Contact Info 2178 Shapiro Library 734-764-4481 arforres@umich.edu Links: Profile & Guides |
Translation: Free Web Resources
- 2lingualThis website allows you to search Google in two languages of your choice at the same time. The results are presented side by side.
- ForvoWebsite where you can hear sound clips of the pronunciation of words in many different languages.
- LanguageGuideThis website allows you to hear the pronunciation of words in different languages by hovering your cursor over pictures of numbers, fruits, animals, parts of the body etc.





Loading...
