This is a guide to resources for the policy comparison assignment for Social Work 530 classes, Introduction to Social Welfare Policy and Services.
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2014
Consider using CQ Researcher to start your search. This database provides in-depth, unbiased research reports on social trends, health, criminal justice, education, international affairs, the environment, technology and the economy. Information is available from 1923 to current issues in today's news.
Highly Recommended Databases for Policy Background
- CQ Researcher, 1923 - present
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each article provides an introductory overview, background information , and pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions. Articles also provide extensive bibliographies for further research.
- ProQuest Congressional
Look up the exact wording of bills, acts and law. Read Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports for extensive background on current and historic government legislation. Find Congressional Hearings and other Congressional documents.
- CQ Congress Collection
Provides analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy. Also explains institutional and organizational history, the legislative process, and public policy decision-making.
- Open CRS: Congressional Service Reports for the People
- Political Reference Suite
A collection of over 30 reference works, including CQ Almanc, Historic Documents Series (back to 1972), Times Reference (note: special collection of major issues affecting the LGBT community from the NYTimes), Congress A-Z, etc.
- How Our Laws Are Made - Sunlight Foundation
Follow the path shown on this graphic which shows the complex process of how a Congressional bill becomes a law.
Scholarly Article Databases
Search these databases to find scholarly articles for policy analysis and background.
- Public Affairs Index
An excellent database which covers national and international public policy issues. You will find citations and links to scholarly journal articles, books, statistical directories, research and conference reports, microfiche, internet materials and other information concerning national and international public policy, written from 1934 to the current year.
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports written as far back as 1915 and as recent as the current year.
- ProQuest - All ProQuest Databases
Combined search of 80 databases covering social sciences, business, health sciences, news & current events, history, science and literature, both historic content and current.
A meta-search engine with access to over a half-billion articles from more than 125,000 journals in all scholarly disciplines. ArticlesPlus also searches e-books, newspapers, magazines, archives and other useful material.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Provides full-text access to over 410,000 scholarly working papers in the social sciences disciplines, including economics, law, political science and public policy. Freely available to the public without a subscription.
- America: History & Life
Covers articles on American and Canadian history. Advanced search lets you choose and search by date ranges in history as a topic. You can use this option to find articles written in any time period but which discuss specific time periods, like the 1930's for New Deal research, the 1960's for policy on Johnson's Great Society, etc.
- Health Policy Reference Center
This database provides full-text articles on all aspects of health policy including access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine.
If you find a promising book in Mirlyn click on the subject tab to see subject headings. Clicking on these links will give you a list of books on this same or similar topics.
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.