This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Telluride Association 2012" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Telluride Association 2012  

UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN TASS PROGRAM Mass Incarceration: Race, Punishment, and Contemporary Urban America
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/TASS2012 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MIRLYN

Library Catalog of the University of Michigan.  Includes catalogs for the University Library, Bentley Historical Library and Clements Library at U-M Ann Arbor, and for the Thompson Library at U-M Flint.  Contains information about items available at these four libraries.

Here are some LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECTS YOU MIGHT USE

African Americans -- Encyclopedias.
African Americans -- History.
African Americans -- Civil rights.
African Americans -- Economic conditions.
African Americans -- Education.
African Americans -- Book reviews -- Periodicals.
African Americans -- Politics and government.
African Americans -- Religion.
African Americans -- Social conditions.

CLICK ON THIS LINK TO ACCESS MIRLYN
http://mirlyn.lib.umich.edu

 

Helpful Databases

ProQuest
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27721

Combined access to 50+ ProQuest databases, including full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including:  Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses.  Among the included databases:   ABI/INFORM, American Periodicals Series (APS), Environmental Science & Pollution Management, Ethnic NewsWatch, OxResearch, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Historical Annual Reports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Technology Collection, and Zoological Record Plus.  Includes all databases from CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts).

JSTOR
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27207

Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes content from ten of the eleven JSTOR multi-disciplinary Journals Archives Collections (Arts & Sciences I through IX; and Life Sciences) and nearly all of the JSTOR discipline-specific Journals Archives Collections (Biological Sciences, Business I and II, Ecology & Botany, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Mathematics & Statistics, and Music).

ERIC [CSA]
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27283

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. This version of ERIC allows you to limit results to peer-reviewed journal articles. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.

 

African American Studies Databases

African American Biographical Database
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27291

Provides online access to thousands of brief and extended biographies of
African Americans, both famous and everyday persons, from all time periods.

Black Historical Newspapers
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/29059

Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of six major African American
community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American
(1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005),
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.

Black Studies Center
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28301

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It includes scholarly essays, periodical articles, historical newspaper articles, images, video clips, a detailed timeline, and more from the following resources: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) Full Text (1902-1990, 1998- ), The Chicago Defender historical backfile (1909-1975), and Black Literature Index (1827-1940).




 

Where TO FIND BOOK REVIEWS

Book Review Digest Plus
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27189


Indexes 2.8 million reviews of over 850,000 fiction and non-fiction books drawn from over 8,000 periodicals, with complete full text provided for over 100,000 of the reviews, and brief excerpts provided for many more. Adds reviews of over 7,000 adult and children's books each year.

International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27135

Provides indexing for 127 currently published scholarly and popular periodicals in Black studies, with links to full text from 40 of them. Also provides retrospective indexing for 45 older periodicals.

ProQuest Newsstand
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/586041

Full text of issues from recent decades of 1,300+ English-language newspapers from across the U.S. and around the world, including Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Jerusalem Post, Los Angeles Times, South China Morning Post (Hong Kong), and many others.

ProQuest Research Library
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28823

Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.  Provides full text for articles from over 3,600 of these journals and magazines.  Includes a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers designed to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas extensively.




Chuck's Profile

Profile Image
Charles Ransom
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip