Research Guides: Civil Engineering: Finding Articles

Citation Management Tools

The library can help you with different tools for managing your footnotes and creating bibliographies. These tools include EndNote and Zotero. Expert help is available from Scholarspace.

EndNote
You buy the software and install it on your computer. See the EndNote guide for more information.
Zotero
A free Firefox extension that you use on your own computer, not library or Sites machines. It's good for citing web resources but still in beta. Visit the Zotero guide for more information.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you organize your research. Visit the Mendeley guide for more information.

Indexes and Abstracts

Search for journal articles, conference papers, and research reports in these databases. For a complete list of databases for Civil Engineering, please see U-M Library Databases Search. (If you already have a citation and wish to find the article in the library, please use the MGetIt MGet It.)

ASCE Research Library
Articles across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings, ASCE e-books, and ASCE Standards. To find full text of books and standards, look for the "complete book PDF" link in the blue bar above the book or standard record.
ASTM Compass
Provides searching and full-text access to ASTM Special Technical Publications (STPs) and Journal of ASTM International, Journal of Testing and Evaluation, Geotechnical Testing Journal, Journal of Forensic Science, Journal of Composites, Technology and Research, and Journal of Cement, Concrete, and Aggregates
Engineering Index (Compendex)
The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and many more.
Google Scholar (with "Availability at UMichigan" links)
Google's scholarly searching with MGetIt links to U-M Library's holdings.

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available.

ProQuest Technology Collection
This database combines full text journals with indexing of global literature on technology and applied science, including materials science, aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, condensed matter physics, computer science and electronic engineering.
RSMeans CostWorks
Institutional login & password required. Online access to the complete RSMeans Library including over 85,000 unit prices, 25,000 building assemblies and 42,000 facilities repair and remodeling costs covering every category of construction. Tools: Construction Cost Estimator and Square Foot Estimator.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science)
Key index to articles from major journals in all areas of science and technology. Use to find other articles citing a specific article (footnotes in reverse).

TRID This link opens in a new window
TRID combines records from the TRIS database and the ITRD database, providing access to more than 1 million transportation research records.