This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Computer Science & Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Computer Science & Engineering   Tags: best_bet, computer science, engineering, hardware, mobile computing, software, software engineering, telecommunications  

Recommendations for databases, reference books, professional associations, and resources for research in Computer Science & Engineering
Last Updated: Jan 9, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/cse Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Help

Service offline?
View additional contact methods.

Related Research Guides

Electrical Engineering
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Jan 9, 2015
Books, databases, professional associations, and assistance with research in Electrical Engineering.
225 views this year
Engineering (General)
by Paul Grochowski, Leena Lalwani, Sara Samuel - Last Updated Feb 17, 2015
This guide provides basic resources for locating information related to engineering.
826 views this year
Engineering Education
by Paul Grochowski - Last Updated May 28, 2014
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Engineering Education.
18 views this year
Entrepreneurship
by Leena Lalwani, Pam MacKintosh, Jamie Vander Broek - Last Updated Sep 5, 2014
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in Entrepreneurship.
407 views this year
Information Technology
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated May 29, 2014
A guide to help users locate and use IT-related library resources.
126 views this year
Materials Science and Engineering
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Jan 6, 2015
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in materials science and engineering.
263 views this year
Patents and Trademarks
by Leena Lalwani - Last Updated Nov 4, 2014
This subject guide provides a starting point for research in patents and trademarks.
973 views this year
Mobile Computing
by Sara Samuel - Last Updated Aug 4, 2014
This guide lists resources for research on mobile computing and mobile devices.
78 views this year
 

Using this guide

Use the tabs above to navigate to the type of information you are looking for.

  • Books: A quick guide to searching for books in the U-M Library, as well as a list of online & print handbooks/encyclopedias.
  • Databases: Links to subject databases for finding articles & conference proceedings.
  • Standards: A quick guide to finding industrial standards.
  • Web Resources: Other online resources outside the U-M Library.
  • Professional Organizations: Links to subject-related professional organizations.
  • Career Resources: Information about AAEL's career collection and links to CoE career resources.
  • Useful Library Services: Links to various library services that you may find helpful during your time at U-M.
 

E-Textbooks

Below is a list of Winter 2015 EECS course textbooks that are available electronically through the library. To access the electronic version, click on the title of the book, then click on the "Available Online" link that appears in the catalog record. If you run into problems accessing an e-book, please report them to Ask a Librarian

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL TEXTBOOK LIST. Books listed here may be either required textbooks or supplemental texts. Your faculty will provide you the titles of required textbooks for your classes. All engineering textbooks are available on course reserve at the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.

 

EECS Online Textbooks

EECS 381 (Kieras)
The C++ programming language by Bjarne Stroustrup. 4th ed. 2013. Addison-Wesley. 9780321563842. Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

The C programming language by Brian W. Kernighan and Dennis M. Ritchie. 2nd ed. 1988. Prentice Hall. 0131103709. Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

The C++ standard library by Nicolai M. Josuttis. 2nd ed. 2012. Addison-Wesley. 9780321623218. Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

EECS 452 (Wakefield)
Understanding digital signal processing by Richard G. Lyons. 3rd ed. 2011. Prentice Hall. 9780137027415. Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

EECS 470 (Brehob)
Computer architecture: a quantitative approach by John L. Hennessy and David A. Patterson. 5th ed. 2012. Morgan Kaufmann/Elsevier. 9780123838735. Platform: ebrary.

Parallel computer architecture by David E. Culler. 1999.  Morgan Kaufmann Publishers. 1558603433.  Platform:Ebook Library.

EECS 498.001 (Mihalcea)
Introduction to Information Retrieval by Christopher D. Manning and Prabhakar Raghavan. 2008. Cambridge University Press. 9780511410802. Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

EECS 498.002 (Mathieu)
Renewable and efficient electric power systems by Gilbert M. Masters. 2nd ed. 2013. John Wiley & Sons. 9781118140628. Platform: EBook Library.

EECS 519 (Foster)
Principles of plasma discharges and materials processing by Michael A. Lieberman and Allan J. Lichtenberg. 2nd ed. 2005. Wiley-Interscience. 0471720011. Platform: Wiley Online Books.

Plasma diagnostics. 1989. Academic Press. 9780120676354. Platform: ScienceDirect.

EECS 521 (Lu)
FinFETs and Other Multi-Gate Transistors by Jean-Pierre Colinge. 2008. Springer. 9780387717524. Platform: SpringerLink (To purchase a print copy of this book for $25, look for the "buy now" link at the SpringerLink site).

Nanoscale transistors: device physics, modeling and simulation by Mark S. Lundstrom and Jing Guo. 2006. Springer Science + Business Media. 9780387280028. Platform: SpringerLink (To purchase a print copy of this book for $25, look for the "buy now" link at the SpringerLink site).

Compound semiconductor device physics by Sandip Tiwari. 1992. Academic Press. 012691740x. Platform: ScienceDirect.

EECS 522 (Flynn)
Design of CMOS radio-frequency integrated circuits by Thomas H. Lee. 2nd ed. 2003. Cambridge University Press. 9781139637145. Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

EECS 539 (Galvanauskas)
Laser physics by Peter W. Milonni and Joseph H. Eberly. 2010. Wiley-Blackwell. 9780470387719.  Platform: Wiley Online Library.

EECS 557 (Subramanian)
Communication Networks by R. Srikant and Lei Ying. 2013. Cambridge University Press. 9781107502406.  Platform: Safari Books Online. (This particular e-book is available through Safari which has a 7 concurrent user limit, so it may not be available at all times to students.)

EECS 560 (Ozay)
Linear state-space control systems by Robert L. Williams II and  Douglas A. Lawrence. 2007. Wiley. 0470117877. Platform: Wiley Online Library.

Linear system theory and design by Chi-Tsong Chen. 3rd Ed. 1999. Oxford University Press. 0195117778. Platform: Knovel.

A linear systems primer by Panos J. Antsaklis and Anthony N. Michel. 2007. Springer. 9780817646615. Platform:SpringerLink (To purchase a print copy of this book for $25, look for the "buy now" link at the SpringerLink site.)

EECS 579 (Hayes)
Digital System Test and Testable Design: Using HDL Models and Architectures by Zainalabedin Navabi. 2011. Springer. 9781441975478. Platform:SpringerLink (To purchase a print copy of this book for $25, look for the "buy now" link at the SpringerLink site.)

Essentials of electronic testing for digital, memory, and mixed signal VLSI circuits by Michael L. Bushnell and Vishwani D. Agrawal. 2002. Kluwer Academic. Platform: ebrary.

Essentials of electronic testing for digital, memory, and mixed signal VLSI circuits by Michael L. Bushnell and Vishwani D. Agrawal. 2002. Kluwer Academic. Platform: MyiLibrary.

Testing of digital systems by N.K. Jha and S. Gupta. 2003. Cambridge University Press. 0521773563. Platform: Cambridge. Platform: Cambridge books online. 

VLSI Test principles and architectures: design for testability. 2006. Elsevier Morgan Kaufmann Publishers. 0123705975. Platform: ScienceDirect.

EECS 586 (Stout)
Introduction to algorithms by Thomas H. Cormen, et. al. 3rd ed. 2009. MIT Press. 9780262033848. Platform: EBSCOhost.

Introduction to algorithms by Thomas H. Cormen, et. al. 3rd ed. 2009. MIT Press. 9780262033848. Platform: Books 24x7.

EECS 598 Section 001 (Lafortune)
Introduction to Discrete Event Systems by Christos G. Cassandras and Stéphane Lafortune. 2007. Springer. 9780387686127. Platform: SpringerLink (To purchase a print copy of this book for $25, look for the "buy now" link at the SpringerLink site.)

EECS 620 (Singh)
Electronic and optoelectronic properties of semiconductor structures by Jasprit Singh. 2003. Cambridge University Press. 9780521823791. Platform: ebrary.

Electronic and optoelectronic properties of semiconductor structures by Jasprit Singh. 2003. Cambridge University Press. 9780521823791. Platform: MyiLibrary.

EECS 638 (Rand)
The quantum theory of light by Rodney Loudon. 2000. Oxford University Press. 0198501773. Platform: MyiLibrary.

Quantum optics by Marlan O. Scully and M. Suhail Zubairy. 1997. Cambridge. 0521434580. Platform: Cambridge Books Online.

Photon-atom interactions by Mitchel Weissbluth. 1989. Academic Press. 012743660x. Platform: ScienceDirect.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Sara Samuel
Contact Info
Engineering Librarian
Art, Architecture & Engineering Library
2321-D Duderstadt Center
2281 Bonisteel Blvd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
734-615-8638
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2015, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip