Information on comparative effectiveness research & systematic reviews.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2015
- CER Inventory - Partnership to Improve Patient Care
Covers all CER projects currently funded by the Dept. of Health and Human Services.
- Comparative Effectiveness Research (online training modules)
16-part training series provides an introduction to CER, as well as advanced instruction on various CER methods and policy and practice. From the Center for Health Outcomes, Policy, & Evaluation Studies at Ohio State University.
- Comparative Effectiveness Research Toolkit (NPC)
From the National Pharmaceutical Council. Includes resources to help you understand what CER is & how it can be useful.
- Comparative Effectiveness Resource Center - ECRI Institute
Includes legislation, conferences, and Comparative Effectiveness in the news.
- Effective Health Care Program (AHRQ)
Search for research summaries, reviews, & reports.
- Journal of Comparative Effectiveness Research
- More CER Resources
Including data & tools, training resources, legislation, & more. From the National Library of Medicine.
- NLM Resources for Informing Comparative Effectiveness
Provides specialized searches of PubMed, HSRProj, & ClinicalTrials.gov to inform comparative effectiveness investigations.
- Project Research Online Database (AHRQ)
Search for AHRQ-funded grants related to comparative effectiveness.
- The Lewin Group Center for Comparative Effectiveness Research
Conducts comparative effectiveness research to inform healthcare policy analysis.
A systematic review is a critical assessment and evaluation of all research studies that address a particular clinical issue. The researchers use an organized method of locating, assembling, and evaluating a body of literature on a particular topic using a set of specific criteria. A systematic review typically includes a description of the findings of the collection of research studies. The systematic review may also include a quantitative pooling of data, called a meta-analysis. (AHRQ, http://effectivehealthcare.ahrq.gov/index.cfm/glossary-of-terms/?pageaction=showterm&termid=70.)
- PubMed Systematic Review filter
Specialized PubMed searches to retrieve systematic reviews, meta-analysis, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.
- Cochrane Library
The most respected source of systematic reviews of health care interventions.
- Cochrane Reviews of Relevance to Health Promotion and Public Health
Subset of the Cochrane Library, specific to the fields of public health and health promotion.
- Centre for Reviews and Dissemination Databases
University of York, UK
- Effective Public Health Practice Project
City of Hamilton, Ontario
- EPPI (Evidence for Practice and Policy Information) Centre
University of London, UK
- Evidence and Evaluation for Health Promotion
State Government of Victoria, Australia
- Health Evidence Bulletins Wales
University of Wales College of Medicine, UK
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
- NICE Evidence Base
National Institute for Health & Clinical Excellence (UK)
Tutorials from the Yale Medical Library that demonstrate how to search the health science literature in a systematic manner to create a comprehensive, methodical, transparent, & reproducible search, so that your conclusions are as unbiased & close to the truth as possible.
- 1. Introduction
Introduces the concept of "systematic review" & compares a search done for a systematic review & an ordinary literature search.
- 2. Conducting a systematic review
Shows the typical process of a systematic review, & where searching fits in the big picture.
- 3. Preparing for a Systematic Search
Demonstrates a number of tasks reviewers usually do before performing a full-scale systematic search.
- 4. Building Search Strategies (Part I)
The first in a series of videos that demonstrate how to build good search strategies in databases (with PubMed as the example), using basic concepts in searching, such as controlled vocabularies.
- 5. Building Search Strategies (Part II)
Continues to introduce basic concepts in building searching strategies, such as free-text (natural language) searching, phrase searching, truncation, Boolean logic, and limits, using PubMed as the database.
- 6. Building Search Strategies (Part III)
Continues to demonstrate in MEDLINE (Ovid) the basic concepts in building searching strategies. It also introduces Ovid's unique command line query syntax & a number of search features not available in PubMed, such as wildcard & adjacency/proximity searching.
- 7. Building Search Strategies (Part IV)
Demonstrates in MEDLINE (Ovid) the basic concepts in building search strategies, in particular, proximity searches, frequency searches, Boolean operators, & the various limit options.
- 8. Systematic Searches #8: Building Search Strategies (Part V)
How to search databases that don't use a controlled vocabulary, such as Web of Science and Scopus.
- 9. Using Filters and Hedges
Filters & hedges are prefabricated search strategies that can help you quickly search databases for articles on certain topics or those with certain study designs.
- 10. Finding Grey Literature
An exhaustive literature search, especially one that leads to a systematic review, needs to include searches in gray literature, to minimize publication or reporting bias.
- 11. Validating, Verifying & Revising Your Searches
A systematic search is an iterative one. you need to constantly evaluate, validate, or verify our search results, & revise and re-run the searches if necessary.