1 - Searching in Mirlyn2 - Checking out a Book
1 - Choosing the Right Database3 - ProQuest4 - Find Full Text (MGet It)
This is the "CSP 100 - Home" page of the "CSP 100" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

CSP 100  

This resource is intended to support the academic endeavors of students in the CSP 100 course.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/CSP-100 Print Guide RSS Updates

CSP 100 - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide is designed to give students a brief overview of some of the basic resources available from the library to act as a basic guide for undergraduate research.

 

Help us improve library instruction. Please take a moment to fill out the class evaluation available at https://www.lib.umich.edu/instruction/request/recent

 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

Books and Articles

Mirlyn, The UM Library Online Catalog (Find Books!)

Describes University Library holdings in all formats (books, journals, pamphlets, sound recordings, videos,etc.). To find items, note library location(s) and call number.

ArticlesPlus

(Click on the "ArticlesPlus" tab above the search box on the library website.)

 ArticlesPlus is your gateway to finding all sorts of articles, including ones from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Think of it as the "Google" for the library world! [This is a brand new feature, and is still a beta version - we'd love your feedback.] 


Databases: Where to Start

Need articles but not sure where to start? The Undergraduate Library staff recommends these top ten databases for getting started.

  • ProQuest  
      
    Covers a broad range of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and dissertations in many different disciplines.
  • General OneFile
    Similar to ProQuest but it's a good idea to try both.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    This is the best database for research psychological topics but consider it for other topics including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
  • ISI Web of Science  
      
    This index is more than science. It includes indexes to articles on arts and humanities and the social sciences, too. Over 8,400 scholarly journals are indexed in this database.
  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyzes of authors from every age and literary discipline.
  • PubMed
    Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals. Good for health topics.
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues in the news.
  • Access WorldNews (NewsBank)
    Full text of over 600 US newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    A powerful database for searching U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services and news transcripts.

  • Readers Guide Retrospective  
      
    Indexes articles from 240 magazines published in the U.S. & Canada covering news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, and consumer affairs published between 1890 and 1982.
  • TRY THESE ADDITIONAL SUBJECT DATABASES
    Can't find what you need using one of the top ten databases? Try this link to find additional SUBJECT databases.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Alexandra Rivera
Contact Info
Office Address: 2178 Shapiro Library
Phone: (734) 764-7037
Send Email

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip