A resource guide for students taking part in a summer internship at the Centro Vivir con Diabetes (CVCD) and Education and Information Center “Living with Diabetes”, Cochabamba and La Paz, Bolivia
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2012
Getting started with......
Recommended: Global Health & Information Resources Guide
Highlighted Starting Points:
- Global Health
Database includes information on international health, biomedical sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene.
- PubMed (with MGet It links)
PubMed indexes over 21 million citations in biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases.
- Tropical Diseases Bulletin
Worldwide scientific information covering all aspects of tropical diseases, tropical medicine, international health, health in developing countries.
Extensive research database, especially strong in searching for international biomedical literature and pharmaceutical literature.
A multidisciplinary database of more than 18,000 peer-reviewed journals covering the biomedical sciences, life sciences, physicial sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. Features cited reference searching tools.
Due to the interdisciplinary nature of global health and health disparities literature, investigate databases in varied disciplines.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press focusing on issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. UM users only.
- Health Policy Reference Center
A database including information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine
- Natural Standard
An international research collaboration that synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies, using a comprehensive methodology with the aim of providing objective information to aid clinicians. Can be useful in investigating cultural medicine.
- PAIS International
Indexes references to nearly 2 million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research related to public affairs and public policy worldwide. UM users only.
- PopLine (POPulation information onLINE)
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law/policy, demography, maternal & child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, reproductive health programs, women in development, and health care communication.
Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Includes the areas of: medicine, psychiatry, sociology, linguistics, law. Coverage: 1887-present
- Social Services Abstracts
This database provides abstracts and indexes to over 1,300 serial publications, and includes journal articles, dissertations and book reviews, related to social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare and social policy.
- Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Women's Studies International
Index to the literature of women's studies worldwide. Includes journals, newspapers, books, proceedings and grey literature.
- World Bank e-Library
The World Bank eLibrary provides access to a growing collection of more than 5,000 ebooks, journal articles, and working papers from the World Bank as they are published.