This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Amcult 461/Anthrcul 461/Ling 461: Language, Culture and Society in Native North America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Amcult 461/Anthrcul 461/Ling 461: Language, Culture and Society in Native North America   Tags: american_culture, anthropology, course_guide, linguistics, native_american_studies, subject:amcult course:461 section:001 instructor:meek year:2013 term:fall  

This is guide will help students in Anthro 461 find resources for their term paper on Native American languages and cultures.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/AMCULT461 Print Guide

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Ideas, Starting Points and Historical Context

  • Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
    Second edition of ELL, the most comprehensive encyclopedia of linguistics.
    Grad Reference P 29 .E481 2006. Electronic for University of Michigan affiliates only
  • eHRAF World Cultures  
      
    eHRAF World Cultures (formerly HRAF Collection of Ethnography) is a full-text database of ethnographies of over 150 of the world's cultures. Materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph level to allow cross-referencing by subject and ethnic group, but the database also allows keyword searching.
  • American Indian History Online
    This full-text database provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and photographs.
  • Ethnologue, Web Version  
      
    Encyclopedia of the living languages of the world. Helps place a language in a language family. Names major dialects in the language group. Good for finding broader and narrower terms.

Books for Amcult 461

  • Handbook of American Indian Languages  
      
    by Franz Boas, 1911. Volumes 1 & 2 are online; follow links to Hathi Trust. Vol. 3 only in print: E51 .U6 no.40 (Buhr and Museums Library)
  • Handbook of North American Indians
    Classic multi-volume encyclopedia on North American Indians. Print copy, in Graduate Library Reference Room or the Museums Library, call # E 76.2 .H36. Volume 17 is by Boas, et al., on languages. Includes chapters on individual groups and tribes by region.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Jennifer Nason Davis
Contact Info
Hatcher Graduate Library, Room 209
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190
734/647-5293
Send Email
My Availability/Schedule:
Office Hours: Titiev Library, fall and winter term: Thurs, 11-12
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2015, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip