Try these databases if you're not sure where to find articles for an undergraduate research project.
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2012
Need articles but not sure where to start? The Undergraduate Library staff recommends these top ten databases for getting started.
- ProQuest-Reseach library
Covers a broad range of scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications and dissertations in many different disciplines.
This is the best database for research psychological topics but consider it for other topics including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- Articles Plus
Accessible through the the mlibrary main page. ArticlesPlus searches a large number of the university's databases and looks for articles pertaining to your search.
- ISI Web of Science
This index is more than science. It includes indexes to articles on arts and humanities and the social sciences, too. Over 8,400 scholarly journals are indexed in this database.
- Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyzes of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals. Good for health topics.
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues in the news.
- Access WorldNews (NewsBank)
Full text of over 600 US newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide.
- LexisNexis Academic
A powerful database for searching U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services and news transcripts.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexes articles from 240 magazines published in the U.S. & Canada covering news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, and consumer affairs published between 1890 and 1982.
- TRY THESE ADDITIONAL SUBJECT DATABASES
Can't find what you need using one of the top ten databases? Try this link to find additional SUBJECT databases.
Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
919 S. University
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1185
(734) 764-7490Send Email
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.