Here are some suggestions for subject specific databases for use by undergraduate students.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2010
Consider trying these databases if you don't find what you need using the Top Ten Databases recommended by Undergraduate Library staff.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Covers from 1971 to present.
- America: History and Life
American and Canadian history articles from 1954 to the present
- Anthropology Plus
Anthropology articles (including folklore and archaeology) from the late nineteenth century to the present
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
An interdisciplinary database covering articles related to mass media, speech, advertising, journalism, linguistics, television and film with coverage ranging from 1915 to the present.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
- Biography Resource Center
Offers biographical information on more than 1 million people throughout history.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Indexes 205 nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters from 1995 to present.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Offers political science and public policy articles, books and government documents from 1972 to the present.
- iPoll (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)
Polling data from 1935 to the present.
- MLA International Biobliograhy
Literary criticism, modern languages, literatures, folklore, linguistics from 1963 to the present.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and articles on social structure, inequality, social change and social problems.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text access to ten major metropolitan newspapers from as early as 1849 and into 2005. Also includes coverage of some historically black newspapers.
Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff
Shapiro Undergraduate Library
919 S. University
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1185
(734) 764-7490Send Email
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.