This is the "Home" page of the "Native American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Native American Studies   Tags: best_bets, native_american_studies, social_sciences  

Native American Studies is an interdisciplinary study of American Indians (United States). This guide provides key resources for the study of American Indians.
Last Updated: Oct 4, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/indians Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Social Science Databases

Google Scholar

 

MGet It

Already Have a Citation? Learn about MGetIt and citation linking

Citation Linker SFX
 

Chuck's Video

Native American Studies Databases

The databases listed contains resources related to American Indians

  • Abstracts in Anthropology
    Classified index and abstract of all four subfields of anthropology: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Includes abstracts of site reports, analytical studies, and reports on field techniques and artifacts.
  • American Indian History Online
    This database provides access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. 320+ Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, maps and charts, and
    photographs. Updated semiannually.
  • America: History & Life  
      
    America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and
  • Anthropology Plus
    A comprehensive, international index to the literature of anthropology and archaeology, Anthropology Plus combines two major indexes: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.
  • AnthroSource
    Electronic archive of journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) through 2006, and access to current issues of 15 journals.
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography  
      
    Contains full text essays outlining the lives and careers of American and British authors from all eras and genres and summarizing the critical response to their work. Includes lists of principal works by, and further readings about each author profiled.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.
  • JSTOR
    Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Indexes over 3,800 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
  • PsycInfo  
      
    This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
  • Reader's Guide Abstracts
    Indexes and briefly summarizes articles from 240 popular periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health and nutrition, consumer affairs, etc
  • Readers Guide Retrospective [WilsonWeb]  
      
    Indexes articles from 240 periodicals published in the U.S. & Canada, covering current events & news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health, consumer affairs, etc. Covers earlier period not covered by other versions of Readers Guide
 

Native American Web Sites

American Indian Library Association
http://www.ailanet.org/

 The American Indian Library Association, an affiliate of the American Library Association, is a membership action group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives. AILA holds business meetings twice a year in conjunction with the American Library Association and publishes the American Indian Libraries Newsletter quarterly.

Native Health Database
http://hsc.unm.edu/library/nhd/

"Bibliographic information and abstracts of over 5000 health-related articles and resource documents," from the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center

American Native Press Archives
http://anpa.ualr.edu/

"... collecting and archiving the products of the Native press and materials related to Native press history, collecting and documenting the works of Native writers, and constructing bibliographic guides to Native writing and publishing

Alaska's Digital Archive

http://vilda.alaska.edu/cdm4/pathway.php
Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout the state.

Chuck's Profile

Profile Image
Charles Ransom

Library Contact

Profile Image
Alexa Pearce
Contact Info
209 Hatcher Library North
Send Email
 

Library Help

 

see http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask/ for additional methods of contact

 

    Contact

    We welcome your feedback on our web site.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

    ©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip