Skip to Main Content
Library Research Guides

Biology

Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in biology, including: molecular, developmental, and cell biology; ecology and evolutionary biology; botany; and zoology.

Library Contact

Profile Photo
Scott Martin
Contact:
4323 Taubman Health Sciences Library
Office hours: Tu/Th 2-3 PM via Zoom: https://umich.zoom.us/j/9334900604
734-764-8196
Website

Need help finding articles? Ask your librarian!

Making sense of the Library's available resources for finding journal articles can be confusing at first.  Here are a few quick tips to get you started:

  • If you have a citation: Use our MGet It Citation Linker to get to your article quickly!  Just enter whatever citation information you have into the online form and click "Find It."  If we don't have access to an electronic version of the article, you can use MGet It to find a print copy of the article in our collection (using our Library Catalog Search), or to request a PDF scan from another library via Interlibrary Loan (it's free!).
  • If you know which database you want to use: Go to the main Library page and enter the name into the search box.  Find the title under the Databases heading, click the "Go to database" link, and start searching!
  • If you need articles on a specific topic: Your best choice of database will depend on the kind of question you want to answer.  If it's a question about medical or health-related research, try PubMed (and consider talking to a librarian at the Taubman Health Sciences Library!)  For research topics about animal species, search Zoological Record.  If you need a mix of academic and popular-press articles, try ProQuest Research Library.  For everything else biology-related, Biosis is a good first stop for article searching.   

...and as always, if you need more help finding articles, email me at samarti@umich.edu!

Find Databases

Browse available databases by subject:

To search for a specific database by name, use the search box on the main Library homepage.

Remember: links to databases can be bookmarked!  If you're working from a wireless connection or off-campus, they'll automatically route you through the U-M login system to authenticate, then take you right to the database.