This is the "Sources and Keywords for Finding Secondary Literature" page of the "Practice-based Evidences for Social Workers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
ConceptsHow to Choose a TopicKnowledge Domains
Formulating an answerable clinical or program question
Sources and Keywords for Finding Secondary Literature
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 

Practice-based Evidences for Social Workers  Tags: evidence-based_practice social_sciences  

Inform practice through evidence: Evidence-based practice for the helping professions based on a non-hierarchical model. Thanks to Karen Staller for coining "Practice-based Evidences"*.
Last update: Feb 01st, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=29519  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Sources and Keywords for Finding Secondary Literature             Print Page
  
 

Sources and Keywords for Finding Secondary Literature

 

Looking for journal articles or other types of research materials? Try any or all of the following databases, depending on your focus.  Most include substantial access to electronic full text for University of Michigan affiliated users. For more information on available databases, please see the list of Social Work databases in SearchTools.Primary Literature subject headings  below may help find the highest level of single studies:Secondary
Literature
subject headings
below are suggested to narrow your search for
evaluative literature:

MEDLINE (Ovid) 
Access via web: UM-MEDSEARCH
1966- (Updated biweekly)
The Journals database can be used to obtain a list of currently indexed MEDLINE titles; select the Limit for Current Subsets called "Currently indexed in MEDLINE." 
Information on Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database to journal citations in the biomedical sciences. Includes citations and abstracts to the world's journal literature covering biomedicine, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Some full text articles available. This database is limited to 50 simultaneous connections.

Randomized controlled trials ('Gold Standard")
Clinical trials

 

Evidence-based
medicine
Critical Pathways, Meta-
analysis
Practice guideline
Consensus development conferences

Sample searches in Medline: "post-traumatic stress disorder"
(c
heck Review Articles box and EBM Reviews box).
S
ee also EBM Reviews below as this feature in Medline is not
complete.

CINAHL 
Access via web: EBSCO
1982- (Updated monthly)
An index to U.S. nursing journals, including selected primary journals in social service and healthcare. There are more than 7000 records with full text now included and 1200 records with images.

Research
Clinical trials
Research based nursing practice

Meta-analysis
Critical Path Practice guidelines

Sample searches in CINAHLl: "stress disorder, post-traumatic"
(c
heck Evidence-based Practice box).

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)
Access via web: UM-MEDSEARCH
Current edition.
Database of regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care based on extensive evaluation of reported studies.Cochrane Collaboration is an international organization that produces the Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews. Aim is to establish whether scientific findings are consistent and can be generalized across populations. Reviews have been prepared using a systematic approach to minimize bias and random errors.

Be sure to select appropriate Medical Subject Headings MeSH terms but also include all relevant TEXTWORDS when doing your search. When choosing your text words, think widely about what terms to use and include synonyms, alternative spellings, singular/plural forms etc. Think about "historical" terms as well -- for example, "attention deficit disorder with hyperactivity" has only been known as such since 1984: records prior to that can only be captured using terms like "hyperkinetic syndrome."
--------------- ---------------

Sample search in Cochrane: jet lag

EBM Reviews (Ovid)  --------------- -----------

Sample search in EBM Reviews:"post-traumatic stress disorder"

Evidence-based nursing content from The Joanna Briggs Institute
Access via web:  Proquest

Researchers gain exclusive access to highly valuable evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). These resources include Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets. The JBI's evidence-based approach opens a new world of education resources, with critical appraisal and meta-analysis that is highly respected and unquestioned in the field.

--------------- -----------

Sample search in Evidence-based nursing content from The Joanna Briggs Institute: "post-traumatic stress disorder"

-----------

PsycINFO 
Access via web: EBSCO
1887- (Updated monthly)
Covers both journal and book literature on psychology and material relevant to psychology in the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology and psychiatry.

Research
Empirical study
Program evaluation
Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Scroll down to the Methodology pull-down menu,
select Literature Review, Systematic Reviews, Meta Analysis, or
Treatment Outcomes.

Sample search in PsycINFO: substance abuse using the
Advance Search tab:
Scroll down to the
Methodology pull-down menu,
select Literature Review, Meta Analysis,
Treatment Outcomes
.



---------
ISI Web of Knowledge TS=
systematic review Document Type=
Review

1. Sample search in ISI Web of Knowledge IN GENERAL SEARCH:
a) Restrict search by document types (Choose Review)
b) Type in TOPIC SEARCH BOX: reminiscence or "life review"

2. Sample search in ISI Web of Knowledge in ADVANCED SEARCH:
a) ts=reminiscence and ts=systematic review
b) ts=reminiscence and ts=effects
c) ts=life review and ts=effects

(Not good for complex searching with multiple synonyms)

CSA Illumina 
Access via web: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
CSA Illumina provides access to six social-work related databases from the vendor, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA): AGELINE, Criminal Justice Abstracts, ERIC, Medline, Sociological Abstracts, and Social Services Abstracts. All these databases can be searched simultaneously. 

See individual databases See individual databases

AGELINE 
Access via web: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
1978- (Updated monthly)
Indexes and abstracts books, journals, research reports, consumer guides, and book chapters in the field of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. This database is limited to 8 simultaneous connections. 

AgeLine Database at AARP http://www.aarp.org/
research/ageline/
offers free access to abstracts of social gerontology and aging-related articles, books, and reports.

Randomized controlled trials
Gerontological Research
Program evaluation

Outcomes
Literature review
Meta-analysis
Clinical
practice guidelines
Best
practices*

Sample search AGELINE:

reminiscence or life review and (any words in column 3)

Sample search in AgeLINE for culturally competent interventions:

"racial and ethnic groups" and (intervention or therapy or treatment or counseling)

Stat!Ref 

While NOT a source of systematic reviews, Stat!Ref may be considered a proxy for them, to the extent that the sources are authoritative syntheses of disorders and their treatments. Stat!Ref is a full-text resource that allows you to cross-search more than 25 medical and drug texts, including the DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders and Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders.

-------------- --------------
Sample search in Stat!Ref: conduct disorder

Family & Society Studies Worldwide 
Access via web: EBSCO
1970- (Updated monthly)
A "comprehensive, systematic, and non-evaluative resource of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development and Social Welfare. FSSW provides over 455,000 abstracts and bibliographic records drawn from over two thousand professional journals, books, popular literature, conference papers, government reports, and other sources." 

Research
Evaluation
Program evaluation

Literature review
Comparative studies
Meta analysis
Evidence-
based
medicine
Practice
guidelines Treatment guideline

Sample search F&SSW :

conduct disorder and treatment and (any words in column 3)

Sample search in Family & Society Studies Worldwide for culturally
competent interventions:

("battered women" or "family violence") and
[name of ethnic group]

Social Work Abstracts 
Access via web: EBSCO
1977- (Updated semi-annually)
Covers both Social Work Abstracts and the Register of Clinical Social Workers. Social Work Abstracts contains information on the fields of social work and human services. Covers more than 450 journals in the areas of the social work profession, theory and practice, areas of service, social issues and social problems. Social Work Abstracts is the most appropriate index for the finding citations to journals that are available on this campus. This database is limited to 8 simultaneous connections. 

Social Work Research
Research
Evaluation
Evaluation research

Meta-
analysis*
Meta-analysis
Evidence-
based
practice
Guidelines
Best
practices*

Sample search Social Work Abstracts: substance abuse and (any words in column 3)
Sample search in Social Work Abstracts for culturally competent interventions: ("battered women" or "family violence") and ("minority groups" or "cultural competence")
Social Services Abstracts 
Access via web: CSA Illumina
1980- (Updated monthly)
An index of social services literature, including social welfare, policy and community development. Abstracts cover journal articles, dissertations and book reviews. While this database indexes more journals than Social Work Abstracts, many of the journals are not available on this campus. 

Evidence-
based practice
Literature
reviews
Treatment outcomes

Sample search in Social Services Abstracts:

substance abuse and (any words in column 3)

Sample search in Social Services Abstracts for culturally competent interventions:

("battered women" or "family violence") and "crosscultural treatment"

ERIC
Access via web: CSA Illumina

1966- (Updated quarterly)
Online Thesaurus
Consists of two files: Resources in Education covers unpublished documents like conference papers, reports, theses, curricula, project reports, etc. and Current Index to Journals in Education covers over 775 journals and is the most comprehensive database in the field of education. (Unpublished materials, i.e. EDs, are available on microfiche in the Graduate Library.) Also available via http://www.eric.ed.gov/.

Note: Federal policy on education information policies is changing with the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001. The Department of Education's 2002-2003
Annual Plan
includes Strategic Goal 4 to "transform education into an evidence-based field."

 

Research
Evaluation
Verify other terms in Eric Thesaurus Online such as
Ethnography
Focus groups
Participant Observation
Case studies
Field studies
Interviews
Qualitative Research
Survey
Program evaluation
Correlational
Quasi-experimental
Action Research

Literature reviews
Bibliographies
Effectiveness
Guidelines
Meta analysis
Synthesis
Comparative analysis

Sample search in ERIC:

substance abuse treatment and (any words in column 3)

Sample search in ERIC for culturally competent interventions:
("minority groups" or "cultural differences") and
(intervention or therapy or treatment or counseling)
Sociological Abstracts 
Access via web: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
1963- (Updated monthly)
Sociological Thesaurus. Contains over 457,000 citations and abstracts for sociological literature. Indexes and abstracts journal articles concerning all aspects of sociology published in Sociological Abstracts, and includes coverage of core social work journals. 
Evaluation research
Social science research
Program evaluation
Literature reviews
Standards

Sample search in Sociological Abstracts:

substance abuse treatment and (any words in column 3)

Sample search in Sociological Abstracts for culturally competent interventions: ("battered women" or "family violence") and "crosscultural treatment"

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Access via web: CSA Illumina
1968- (Updated quarterly)
Indexes major journals in criminology and related disciplines, chapters in books, and selected government reports. Each record includes an enhanced abstract which includes research findings and methodology. Subjects covered in this database include juvenile delinquency, prevention projects, crime trends, corrections, courts, and victims. If you experience problems with this version of Criminal Justice Abstracts, use the publicly available NCJRS Database

General Accounting Office (Renamed Government Accountability Office in 2004)
http://www.gao.gov


GAO Reports (GPO Access)
Many program evaluations and cost-benefit studies of federal services and non-governmental interventions
Full text of "Reports to Congress" on government resource management, October 1, 1994+
Searchable by keyword in text, report title, report identifier, and date
For a known report number, use quotation marks and type the number as shown: "PEMD-95-1"
Capitalize Boolean Operators, e.g. AND, OR

 

Research
Program Evaluation

Meta-
analysis
Evidence-
based
practice
Guidelines
Best
practices*

Sample search in GAO Reports:

substance abuse treatment AND (any words in column 3)

Dissertations and Theses: A & I
Access via web: ProQuest
1861-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the most comprehensive source for doctoral dissertations and some master theses in North America. University of Michigan provides free access to dissertations from Big Ten Universities but other dissertations generally do not allow their dissertations to circulate. To borrow non-Big Ten University dissertations you will need to complete an Interlibrary loan request. See the library's Dissertation Resources for additional help.

In addition, most new U of M dissertations can be found in the University of Michigan repository, Deep Blue, and are also cataloged in Mirlyn.

Meta-analysis
Evidence-
based
practice
Guidelines
Best
practices*
Effectiveness
Guidelines
Synthesis
Comparative analysis
Evidence-
based
medicine
Critical Pathways, Meta-analysis
Practice guideline

Sample search in Dissertations and Theses: A & I: substance abuse treatment AND (any words in column 3)

PopLine (Population Information Program)
Access via web: http://db.jhuccp.org/popinform/basic.html
1970- (Twice monthly)
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law and policy, demography, maternal and child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, reproductive health programs, women in development, and health care communication. This is a useful database for those conducting medical social work and public health research, however it only links to some documents when those are available free on the web. For availability of journal articles indexed in PopLine, use Mirlyn to determine our holdings for the journal title.

---

---

Sample search in PopLine: substance abuse treatment


LexisNexis Academic
ProQuest Research Library 
AGELINE 
Consumer articles in the popular press may serve as a proxy for systematic reviews or supplement them.

 

N/A N/A
Sample search for consumer report literature: lasik surgery

LexisNexis Statistical 
Indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to the full text of 15% of federal publications. Formerly known as Statistical Universe. Ideal for corroborative data in support of evidence-based practice.

See Below

Sample search for indicators of: well-being

Use the check boxes for

age check box Age

race check box Race

rather than key word searching for an age or race category

Guide

  1. Change default to Search Abstracts
  2. Search Google or MIRLYN for the title if there are no links to tables
  3. If not online or in the Library collection, use ASI, SRI, or II number to locate a microfiche copy
 

*Can be used in the database as keyword, not as descriptor or subject heading.

 
 

What are Practice Guidelines?

Professional associations such as APA have set up their own criteria for deciding if a practice intervention is evidenced-based.

In Psychology, "The term guidelines refers to pronouncements, statements, or declarations that suggest or recommend specific professional behavior, endeavors, or conduct for psychologists (American Psychological Association [APA], 1992. Guidelines differ from standards in that standards are mandatory and may be accompanied by enforcement mechanism (APA, 2001)...federal or state law may supercede these guidelines."

[Source: APA (2003). Guidelines on multicultural education, training, research, practice, and organizational change for psychologists. American Psychologist, May 2003, pg. 378.]

Example of Practice Guidelines: APA Practice Guidelines http://www.psych.org/psych_pract/treatg/pg/prac_guide.cfm

The social work profession does not have one agreed upon criteria for evidence-based practice. For example, NASW policy statements in Social Work Speaks do not cover evidence-based practice. However, a new resource from the Social Work Leadership Institute: Center on Aging Policy provides an Evidence Database: http://socialworkleadership.org/nsw/cap/ebp.php

"The Evidence Database is regularly updated by an advisory panel that filters, reviews, and catalogues articles published in professional journals both in the U.S. and abroad. The database allows you to refine your search through multiple keywords and categories.

Federal agencies such as SAMHSA set up their own guidelines.

The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is a searchable online registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers at http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov.

 

Next Page



 

MTagger

Coming soon

Site Feedback

Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

© 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

  Loading content... please wait