Research Guides: Gastroenterology and Hepatology: Databases

Journal Databases

PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new window
The free interface for the premier biomedical database (MEDLINE) from the National Library of Medicine.

Medline (Ovid)
The Ovid interface for the MEDLINE database. Please note:The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is no longer available through the Ovid interface.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains these databases: Database of Systematic Reviews, EBM Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, & NIH Economic Evaluation.

EMBASE.com This link opens in a new window
A biomedical database that complements MEDLINE, especially when you're looking for a global perspective or need information on pharmaceuticals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that includes the MEDLINE database & provides good coverage of international journals. Also includes cited reference searching, citation analysis, h-index for authors, & more.

Web of Science
An interdisciplinary database that includes conference proceedings, cited reference searching, & journal impact factors.

Subject-Specific Databases

CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. A good complement to PubMed, especially when you're looking for psychosocial aspects of health care.
Global Health
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety & hygiene, & much more. Also includes information on U.S. public health.
PsycInfo
Premier resource for surveying the literature of psychology and adjunct fields. Produced by the American Psychological Assoc.

Reports, Clinical Trials, & Other Grey Literature

Looking for reports, conference proceedings, clinical trials, & other resources that are usualy not available in databases can be difficult, but these can also be an important part of your research. The Grey Literature research guide provides links to these sources & tips on how to search them.

Grey Literature