This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Comm 459 Making of American Audiences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Comm 459 Making of American Audiences   Tags: communication_studies, communications, course_guide, mass_media, media  

A research guide for students in Professor Helen Ho's course, Communication Studies 459: The Making of American Audiences
Last Updated: Feb 2, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/comm459 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Don't know where to begin?

Mirlyn, library catalog [Find books, newspapers and magazines, movies, and more]

  • Search for books by keyword, subject, title, author, etc.
  • Need a specific newspaper?  Check the library's coverage of a particular periodical/source (i.e., a newspaper, magazine, news outlet, etc.) by looking up the title in Mirlyn, the library catalog. From the drop-down menu, choose "Journal/Serial name" and search for the title. For example, you can view the Mirlyn record for the New Orleans Times-Picayune here. The "holdings" tab tells you that we have electronic access to this newspaper through several different databases, with different dates of coverage.
  • Alternatively, you can also look up a particular title using the MGet It link, found at the top of all library web pages.


SEARCH TIPS for Mirlyn, library databases, and the web (applicable to many search engines, including Google, but not all)

  • Put phrases in quotation marks:  "hurricane katrina"
  • Use an asterisk for truncation (any ending of a term):  communicat* will find communication, communicates, communicating, communicator, etc.
  • To search for ANY  of a group of terms, use OR and parentheses:  (movies OR film OR cinema)
  • To search for ALL terms, use AND:  violence AND movies
  • Combine the above strategies:  violence AND (movies OR film OR cinema OR "motion pictures")


FIND ARTICLES - ArticlesPlus


Click on the "ArticlesPlus" tab above the search box on the library website. ArticlesPlus is your gateway to finding all sorts of articles from across multiple databases, including ones from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Think of it as "Google" for MLibrary!

 

Subject-Specific Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Search more than 500 communications and mass media journals at the same time.

PsycInfo

Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as communications, psychiatry, sociology, education, etc.

Project Muse

Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses (Duke, Hawaii, Indiana, MIT, Penn State, etc.).

JSTOR

Articles from many different scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (different from regular Google) may be especially helpful when searching an interdisciplinary subject area like communication studies. Be sure to log in using the link above - if off campus, you will be asked for your uniqname and password, and will then have access to UM-licensed full-text articles, if available.

MLA International Bibliography

Subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.

Shevon's Profile

Profile Image
Shevon Desai
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
734-764-1313
Send Email
 

Need background info?

Need to find some basic but authoritative background info on your topic? Try these *reference* sources:

International Encyclopedia of Communication

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information (From 2003. Recommend browsing the table of contents. Useful for children and media effects topic.)

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip