Research Guides: Geriatric Medicine &amp; Palliative Care: Databases

Journal Databases

PubMed @ U-M (with MGet It links) This link opens in a new window
The free interface for the premier biomedical database (MEDLINE) from the National Library of Medicine.

Medline (Ovid)
The Ovid interface for the MEDLINE database. Please note:The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is no longer available through the Ovid interface.
Cochrane Library
Contains these databases: Database of Systematic Reviews, EBM Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, & NIH Economic Evaluation.

EMBASE.com This link opens in a new window
Especially strong in pharmacy literature; a wider base of international journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that includes the MEDLINE database & provides more extensive coverage of international journals. Also includes cited reference searching, citation analysis, & h-index for authors.

Web of Science
An interdisciplinary database that includes conference proceedings, cited reference searching, & journal impact factors.

Other Useful Databases for Geriatrics

AgeLine (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, & public policy.

CINAHL
Authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 5000 nursing journals and publications dating as far back as 1937.

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on social work, human services, and related areas.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Citations & summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, & technical reports in the field of psychology, as well as information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines.

Reports, Clinical Trials, & Other Grey Literature

Looking for reports, conference proceedings, clinical trials, & other resources that are usualy not available in databases can be difficult, but these can also be an important part of your research. The Grey Literature research guide provides links to these sources & tips on how to search them.

Grey Literature